Technical 1.1 Petrol Panda Spark Plug Gap?

Currently reading:
Technical 1.1 Petrol Panda Spark Plug Gap?

henryrym

Done a quick search, but can't find any info on for spark plug gaps for our '04 1.1 Active Panda - can any one help?

I've never done a Panda plug change before - looks like I need to remove the air filter plastic to get at them - hopefully remove a few bolts and then do the plugs, or is it more complicated?

Thanks

It isn't more complicated than you say, so go for it. Don't gap the plugs is my advice, use as they are out of the box. Modern ignition is very powerful and will bridge the gap. They expect large sparks these days. There is a risk of gapping the plugs poorly, damaging the electrode a little or making the gap too small that isn't worth it in my opinion. I don't know what the official line is and what others think, but this has been fine for me with systems newer than the late 90s.

Got the plugs from Unipart - I'll pop them in tomorrow and see how she goes!

Thanks

Dropped the replacement plugs in yesterday - the originals were set at 1.2mm, the Unipart supplied ones were set at 0.8mm, so re-gapped them to 1.0mm.

Can confirm that it was really easy - two bolts to remove the air filter gubbins and the plugs are there to take out - peasy!!

Now runs very sweetly, have just done a 100+ mile trip on motorways and B roads averaged 49+ mpg, sure that's an improvement on what we got before.

Thanks for the help, my only concern was that I seem to have an oil leak as the plugs had a light coating of engine oil on their outsides - none on the plug innards I hasten to add! The car has done 34,000 miles and I suspect the plugs have not been changed since new as they were the original Fiat ones.

Thanks again