Sick pay

Currently reading:
Sick pay

most of you may know i'm out of work at the moment due to having my apendix removed.

i phoned work and they have told be i will only receive SSP because i've only been working there less than a year permantly, however i have been there about 15 months total, this is only £15ish a day which unfortunaly doesnt even pay my small bills.

i asked nicely if they could take it out of my holiday as i'm never going to use up the holiday i have left anyway (over 3 weeks IIRC) but they said no :(

does that seem fair?

instred i'm not left without choice but to go back to work next week, i might go in friday if i get the car back from the garage, and possibly book holiday or just grin and bear it.....

Well unless your contract states paid sick pay then yes, all you will get is SSP after 3 days (I believe is when it kicks in). As a contractor, my contract states SSP but when I was ill for 2 days I just told them that I don't like that and they gave me full pay; but you don't seem to be in a position to do that.

I am not sure whether you are allowed to state exactly when you want to take your holiday, doubtful. Just remember though that you will get more this way than taking holiday, just you will get the money at a later date.

:confused: how do you figure? i normally get ~£200/week when working, now i'll only get ~£75/week on SSP, when i take my holiday i wont get paid more?

just means i'd get paid normally for being sick....

Think about it....

You take your holiday allocation now and you use up your holiday allocation, it's not 'free' money whilst SSP is in this case. If you had SSP now then you would simply be able to gain the holiday pay at a later date meaning that you gain the SSP over using holiday pay now.

Unless of course your employer/your circumstances mean you will lose the holiday pay or holiday time?!