Welcome to FIAT Forum v3!

Wiltshire Chris

‍‍Accidental Barchetta owner
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
120
Location
Wiltshire
Rats - I hadn't considered this and I didn't keep the original resource IDs when I did the import. I'm really sorry about that. Guides will auto-redirect as that have kept their IDs.
No need to apologise, it's not a big deal to change the links now I know
Actually there are loads more now, if you hover the mouse over "like" you will get a number of choices.
Got it, thanks
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
4,498
Location
Edinburgh Scotland
phwoarr! this looks lovely Ben. Visually a little like the Cupra forum - which I hang around on for my SEAT related fixes - Gonna take this slow old brain a wee while to get it's teeth into it all though. Thanks so much for all your hard work with it.
 
OP
OP
ben

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,640
Location
Taipei
Ooh fancy! Working fine for me, except old bookmarks / links from Google aren't working (don't know how important SEO is for the site).

For example: https://www.fiatforum.com/grande-punto/ would be nice to auto-redirect that to the new link: https://www.fiatforum.com/forums/grande-punto.105/
Yeah they are a pain to automate as there is no number in the old url (to be able to pick up the id and move it over).

Everything else can be automatically done.

I think for the forum pages, I'll let google find the new URLs by itself - unless I can find some spare time to do the forum redirecting :)
 

Steve gt

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
565
Hi Ben , things looks bit different , nice one 👍🏻
Had a little look around and can’t find My punto gt thread on the punto mk 1 page , it is on the members motors page though.
Thanks Steve
 
OP
OP
ben

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,640
Location
Taipei
Hi Ben , things looks bit different , nice one 👍🏻
Had a little look around and can’t find My punto gt thread on the punto mk 1 page , it is on the members motors page though.
Thanks Steve
Yes this is one limitation - on the old forum system I was able to drag in threads from multiple forums based on their prefix (so I could get all the Punto things from classifieds, members motors, spotted etc etc) all to link in with the main Punto forum.

I did look for this, but no add on is currently available that can do it - so it's something I need to study on how to code myself.

I might be able to get around this by putting a new side bar in its place, but that wouldn't help people on mobile...

On my list! :D
 

Bigvtwin996

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
1,165
Not good for me...
Threads are all over the place, seems totally random date ordering....
Also seem to have a totally illogical/meaningless number of alerts...
 
OP
OP
ben

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,640
Location
Taipei
Not good for me...
Threads are all over the place, seems totally random date ordering....
Also seem to have a totally illogical/meaningless number of alerts...
That's strange... When browsing a particular forum? If so, which one? I'll check it out.
 
OP
OP
ben

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,640
Location
Taipei
Classic Fiat 500
Ah, I see the issue!

The classic 500 section has a load of sticky/pinned threads at the top, which span back quite a few years.

They have a little 📌 next to them, but admittedly it's not very clear.

I'm in bed now (it's 5am here!) But when I get up, I'll see if that can be made a bit clearer (perhaps a different color background)

Cheers!
 

Bigvtwin996

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
1,165
ahh yes... scrolling down I can see what you are saying...
Just seems strange that there is nothing to indicate the pinned threads....
So if that list was to grow then you would have to scroll down quite a way to see the first "New" thread.....
Not particularly nice to not be able to see the first new thread quickly/easily (just my opinion)
 
OP
OP
ben

ben

The Boss
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,640
Location
Taipei
ahh yes... scrolling down I can see what you are saying...
Just seems strange that there is nothing to indicate the pinned threads....
So if that list was to grow then you would have to scroll down quite a way to see the first "New" thread.....
Not particularly nice to not be able to see the first new thread quickly/easily (just my opinion)
There is a little pin, but it's kinda hard to see...
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20211126-053113_Edge.jpg
    Screenshot_20211126-053113_Edge.jpg
    303.6 KB · Views: 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
8,464
Location
Faringdon, Oxfordshire UK
Well that hit me in the face. Bit of a shock, not really in a good way.
So it looks 'fresher', meaning it has a brighter background, but why is this necessary, or 'better'?
Different, is not the same as better. Now I have to spend a lot of time, finding out how it all works. Really don't need this.
'Thanks' button has disappeared. The answer about options behind the Like button does not answer this.
Under my avatar, is "I paid, change me". What is that? What am I supposed to change? I was happy with whatever was there before.
On the 'not smile, not grumpy' thread, it suggests I can click on that message and it will take me to my profile where I can change it. Fine, I click on it, arrive at my profile, but cannot see that message anywhere, so can't change it.
The details that appeared under an avatar are now hidden until hovered over, so we now have to move the mouse to see someone's location. Why have these details become hidden?

Someone needs to explain 'push notifications'. Do we still get the automated emails? Is this different, instead, or an additional 'benefit'? Got one automated email earlier today, none since, but there does appear to be threads I've posted to with new posts. How do we reinstate the email notifications?

Currently, not a happy bunny.

Edit: Quoting another post just became difficult.
Another edit: When I click a link in an email, it brings me to the first post of a thread, not the next post since I was last here. So now I have to head to the last page, and work back to try to remember when I was last there?
 
Last edited:

Wiltshire Chris

‍‍Accidental Barchetta owner
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
120
Location
Wiltshire
Hi,
Well that hit me in the face. Bit of a shock, not really in a good way.
I'd agree that there's a fair amount of change but there is a lot to like in the new software though it will take time to get used to. I would guess that Ben (and others?) had tailored the old forum very heavily but not all of that tailoring could easily be carried through to the new forum so we've lost a few familiar features on the move. However, moving to a newer version of the forum software will also give the developers the chance to add new things too. By the sounds of things Ben is working through the list of problems as quickly as he can.

One thing I would say is that post editing while different has improved a great deal, handling of pictures seems easier to me.

I can try and help with some of your issues, note that this is from a PC not a phone or tablet so if you're using one of those it may not apply.
Under my avatar, is "I paid, change me". What is that? What am I supposed to change? I was happy with whatever was there before.
If you go to https://www.fiatforum.com/account/
you can enter your preferred custom title:
1637910575572.png
Edit: Quoting another post just became difficult.
It took me a few minutes to work this out. if you highlight a section of text then you can add it to your list of quotes that you want in your reply by clicking '+Quote':

1637910673468.png

Then in your reply editor you can click 'Insert quotes' to get your quotes added to your reply:
1637910845390.png

Alternatively you can just hit the 'Reply' button and that will add the whole message to your reply.
1637911718839.png

I hope that helps a little in easing the transition.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ben

h2ypr

500 + 600
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,181
Location
Halfway
Congrats on the update - I tried to use the app and it said I had to login so knew something was afoot.

Couldn’t get logged in so I’ve done a reset password and now logged in but my username/account is showing as imported_h2ypr - @ben is that normal?

Thanks for all your help in keeping this place alive.
 
  • Love
Reactions: ben
Top