General No warning light, No oil in engine, I may have killed it.

Currently reading:
General No warning light, No oil in engine, I may have killed it.

GraemeC3

Hi newbie here, I was about 17 miles from home in my 2011 1242cc 68BHp Panda when my engine started making grinding noises, there was no oil warning light and my car knowledge is poor so I just kept going with the noise getting progressively louder and temperature off the scale. I managed to limp to the garage and there was no oil at all in the engine which is odd because it was serviced just 3mths ago and there were no signs of an oil leak on my drive etc. However I did bottom it on a short piece of farm track about a week or so ago which must have done something I suspect. The mechanic is very busy and can't even look at it until next week. He thinks 50/50 from what I have said that I could have hurt it badly. Hopefully I am jumping the gun but if I have to replace the engine which model fiats could I possibly use? Would a 1.4 100BHP Panda engine be an easy swap with regard to mounts etc or would I need a bigger exhaust and brakes etc etc? Is that engine info on here already? I am not sure how to use the search filters properly. Thx in advance Graeme.