Technical Heater blower resistor

Currently reading:
Technical Heater blower resistor

Taff989

Hi all,

I'm new to all this so please bear with me. I have an old 2007 Grande Punto 1.2. It was my sons first car and to be honest, a great little run a round.
I have noticed that the heaters only works on number 4. I have looked through these forums and have found that this could be due to a Resistor issue as it's a common fault.

My issue is the following:
I had a look at the resistor as many advised and looks ok. For the sake of a few quid, I bought a new one to replace but it looks like someone has previously done some home DIY with this issue.
Picture 1 - This is the wiring that is under the passenger side. As you can see, it looks like someone has had some fun.
Wiring.jpg
Picture 2 - This is the current resistor that in place and looking at the part number, its from a Golf mk4. As you can see, it only has 4 x male pins.
Current Resistor.jpg
Picture 3 + 4 - This is the new and correct fitment for my Punto.
New Resistor 1.jpgNew Resistor 2.jpg

I could purchase a new wiring loom to replace this Golf one but the ones for the Punto come with 5 coloured cables and I only have 4 currently. How would I wire the new "Punto" Resister to the DIY wiring as I have an extra wire?
New wiring.jpg

In short, this is a wiring issue but any advice is appreciated.

Hi all,

I'm new to all this so please bear with me. I have an old 2007 Grande Punto 1.2. It was my sons first car and to be honest, a great little run a round.
I have noticed that the heaters only works on number 4. I have looked through these forums and have found that this could be due to a Resistor issue as it's a common fault.

My issue is the following:
I had a look at the resistor as many advised and looks ok. For the sake of a few quid, I bought a new one to replace but it looks like someone has previously done some home DIY with this issue.