System Build Question

Currently reading:
System Build Question

garlicbread22

Hi
I have set myself the project of building a desktop PC. I have zero experience of computer hardware, never even looked inside a desktop before so I'm a complete noob! I have bought this book to help me http://www.amazon.co.uk/Build-Better-2010-David-Ludlow/dp/1907232087/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262880150&sr=1-2

I would like the PC to be fairly quick and be able to run multiple programs at once. I will use it for media but not for gaming, apart from the odd strategy game (i.e. age of empires).Windows 7 operating system and budget of around £450

I'm sure ill have my questions along the way so I will post them in here to save starting a new thread every time. I know quite a few people know about these sort of things so id be grateful for any help you can give me, but please remember I'm completely new to this when you reply!
thank you

Last edited:
First question! Good place to buy components from, i know ebay and misco but thats pretty much it

ccl, ebuyer
next option Pentium or athlon
nvidia or ati
small profile or large?

what you want to do with it?
as said but whats the budget
200 or 600? or somewhere in between?
operating system?

Last edited:
I buy from a variety of places - eBuyer, Novatech, CCL, Scan, etc - it pays to shop around, but when doing a large order, also look at shipping costs.

What budget do you have? It is easy to go mad...

Will you also be needing an new monitor? Is size important to you?

ccl, ebuyer
next option Pentium or athlon
nvidia or ati
small profile or large?

what you want to do with it?
as said but whats the budget
200 or 600? or somewhere in between?
operating system?

think of going for Inter Core 2 Quad Q9400 if i can afford it
nvidia or ati, not sure what that means
small or large, is that to do with motherboard or case?

Thinking in the ball park of £450, im going to total it up and have a think