General KN air Filter

Currently reading:
General KN air Filter

xXx BL

alright guys ... im thinking of putting a KN air filter in my car ( 2004 punto active sport ) i was just wondering if anyone would let me know about the pros and cons and what is needed to do this ... as you can tell im not very good with cars :/

thankss

:D

fitting is easy just a screw driver to get the old air box off and other basic tools for fitting

k&n is bad sits on top of your engine sucking up hot air

KandN Filters are good filters, its just it sits ontop of the engine
Where all the Hot air also sits :(
So as a result, it sucks hot air in

Now this can be a blessing in the winter to a degree, as the engine would use alot less fuel as the warm air it sucks in means less Fuel has to be used to get the correct fuel/air mixture

But in the summer it means a hot engine, sucking in extra hot air, it means poo performance

Ziggy

i found with all honesty that with me k&N that the engine temperature stayed a lot higher than with me new induction kit...with k&N was constantly on 1/2 mark and now just on a 1/4 takes longer for heater to warm up like lol

and K&n killed a lot of fuel :(

mine at the minute is always on half way is that good or bad ?

If you with K&N air filter, you will have 3 options:

Panel replacement filter - i have this one, standard replacement, insurance comps don't car and i get Fab mpg after fitting it, noise is NOT louder but a little deeper

57i induction filter (i think) - sits on top of TB, comes with large air ducts to try and help colder air get to the filter, weather or not this works i do not know as i've never tried it(y)

Induction kit - most expensive - comes with heat sheilds & filter (Race filter style jobby) again, i've never tried this so i don't know if its any good

However sound wise the bottom too sound like you car does if you remove standard airbox & filter. The K&N panel filter is somewhere in the middle but closer the standard sound(y)