Technical Fitting Witter towbar to '04 Multijet

Currently reading:
Technical Fitting Witter towbar to '04 Multijet

ferrymanr

I have purchased a Witter FT58A towbar kit (with electrics and ball) to fit to my Punto. All looks a doddle as most fitting points are present in the main structural box section member bthat runs either side of the spare wheel housing - just remove plastic bungs.. However Witter instructions require a hole (about 20mm diameter in 3mm steel) to be drilled into this 'chassis' member to get a strap with captive nut/bolt inside the box sections and locate over existing holes.. I am not keen on drilling holes in chassis members. Has anyone else done this or is there an alternative?
The destructions are at:-
http://www.witter-towbars.co.uk/uMedia/FittingInstructions/FT58A.pdf
Richard

I am not a structural engineer, so please speak to someone more suitably qualified before attempting this. That seems like a big hole just to get the captive nut strap in, would it be more preferable to slightly over-drill the holes that already exist in the chassis and to use M8 rivnuts for bolts H to thread into instead?

you need to drill this so that the nut furthest from bumper can be dropped in so make tow bar safe and not able to pull through lower chassis rail
its just a matter of putting a little sound deadening pad over the holes once done if you took it to a professional (the type of sticky pads you wil see in there now from factory
you must do this