Technical fiat multipla engine mount help !!!

fiatmaniac

New member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
55
hi can anyone help , had a mechanic to do my cambelt for me and he was unable to undo the big bolt which go,s through the engine mount on , he said the whole rubber was turning and has advised me to get a new mounting before he do,s the job , however here is where the problem is "" do,s anyone on the forum know where i can get one of these at a reasonable price or is there another fiat model which has the same mounting like the merea for example as i know they share a lot of parts , i have a multipla 100elx 16v 2001 model . any info appreciated as this mounting is a bit pricey to say the least . cheers and regards gary
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
1,235
Location
South Bucks
Fiat multipla engine mount help !!!

Trouble is, anything found in a Scrappy's is likely to be in the same condition, worth a look though if there's one near you.

If the Rubber's turning (with the Bolt), then I'd leave it alone until you have the new one to fit.
The Bolt will most likely be seized/rusted into the bore of the mount, so I'd also get a new Bolt for it while you're at it.
It's also possible that the welded-in nut (in the Chassis) has come loose, in which case you've got a problem.
Not sure if there's access to it.

Manodaly's are the guys to go to if you can wait a few days.
Excellent service.
https://www.fiatforum.com/multipla/323045-manodalys-stock-more-multipla-parts.html

I replaced my L/H mount with a second-hand Steel item from a Brava.
Wasn't a straighforward fit though.
https://www.fiatforum.com/multipla/230141-engine-mount-failure-2.html#post3132964

More info here . . .
https://www.fiatforum.com/multipla/328652-gearbox-mount.html
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
F

fiatmaniac

New member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
55
thanks lads the only thing im not sure of is if the big bolt screws into the chassis leg or is it jus screwed into the engine mount? its just so i know what im up against , do,s anyone know what size the bolt is and length as ive rang around a few places and cant get one . any help appreciated gaz
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
1,235
Location
South Bucks
Fiat multipla engine mount.

. . . It's also possible that the welded-in nut (in the Chassis) has come loose . . .
Sorry, ignore that bit.
The body of the mounting (containing the rubber block) is bolted to the Chassis (3 bolts), the main Bolt goes through the fitting that's bolted to the Engine, and into a threaded section in the top of the rubber block.
What usually happens is the thread seizes, then the threaded section tears away from the rubber when you try to undo the Bolt.
If this happens, then you need to remove the fitting from the Engine as well, so you can sort it out, either by cutting the Bolt, or Drilling/cutting the head off.
 
OP
OP
F

fiatmaniac

New member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
55
thanks bike doc i was dreadin doin this having the thought of the bolt screwing into the chassis leg , i cant get the bolt for this anywhere would you know what size and length it is so i can pick one up from an engineering place , its got to be easier than gettin it from fiat as there are no main dealers around my area . cheers and regards gary
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
1,235
Location
South Bucks
Engine mount...

Not touched the R/H mount on mine, only the L/H (G/Box) one.
That was a 10mm thread, and from memory was approx 160mm long.
I replaced mine with a used Brava item, which uses a 12mm Bolt.

You'll need to take the new Mount to wherever you're getting the Bolt from, as there are three different thread pitches for Metric Bolts that size (0.75mm, 1mm & 1.5mm), should be the 1mm pitch I think.

If you can't get one the correct length, get the next length up, and enough washers to make up the difference.

Another option would be to buy a length of 10mm Studding (go for a 'High Tensile' grade), just cut a piece to length, and use a Nut on the bottom.
You can file a couple of flats in the end so you can wind it into the Mount, and also stop it from turning while you tighten the Nut.
Studding should be much cheaper than a Bolt, and you'll have enough left over to do the other one in future (y)
 
Top