General Dip Stick or SH$t Stick

Currently reading:
General Dip Stick or SH$t Stick

TTR

Established member
Eh up all,

Well for those who can remember my small challenge with the water pump change (😂) all is well and car is running sweet.

However I’ve finally lost this will to live with the worst oil dip stick I’ve ever seen 🤬

Being paranoid after my slight miss hap I’ve been checking oil and water weekly until I’d convinced myself all was well.

Ive finally lost the plot with trying to easily read the oil level - I think I’m an expert now in adjusting the stick to ambient light levels and squinting for ages to figure out where the chuff the level is - FF$ sake there has got to be a better solution 🤔

Who in gods name thought it was a bright idea to build an oil coloured dip stick 😳🤯🤬

Can anyone tell me the later models have more sensible coloured dip sticks and if there are what age plate these start as I’ll buy one gladly. ( You’ve no idea how thoses last three words hurt a Yorkshire man)

Thanks in advance for any inputs 👍

Had a similar problems with a VW i owned and solved it by spraying the bottom bit of the silly black dipstick with grey primer. Worked a treat and never came off even after numerous wipes

Reactions: TTR
Eh up greasytrucker

Not a bad shout- been thinking about that just loathed to put paint on and it flake into oil- be just my luck

I’ve got some plastic adhesion coater so might put that on then a blast of primer 👍

Tbh I can’t see a small amount of paint like that hurting if it did come off again. Think i used a bit of acid etch primer that i had left from when i refurbed some alloys. Still can’t understand what makes a manufacturer fit a black dipstick 🤷

Eh up all,

Well for those who can remember my small challenge with the water pump change (😂) all is well and car is running sweet.

However I’ve finally lost this will to live with the worst oil dip stick I’ve ever seen 🤬