Technical Twin Air tick over/idle engine rpm

Currently reading:
Technical Twin Air tick over/idle engine rpm

Luigi e Lanziano

Hello everyone,
Firstly, apologies for stealing my little paso’ red buzz bomb’s name from all those on the forum who’ve called their cars Luigi. I just threw the name out to my wife and it stuck!
Luigi is a 500S Twin Air on an LJ63 plate and thus far, has only got 600 miles on the clock. What I’d like to try to establish is what tick over/idle rpm Luigi should be running at. Searches on the forum and in the owner’s manual have not helped and I’ve got no experience of the world of two cylinders and tubo-chargers. The indicator needle on the 500 rev counter is fairly broad and blunt, so it’s not really possible to be all that all that precise about this, but Luigi seems to tick over at about 1,000 rpm, albeit remarkably quietly. One wonders whether this has a knock on effect on economy. But the question is, is this about right?
I’d be very grateful if other twin air owners could advise where their tick over/idle sits so that I can compare and maybe adjust it? On tight residential street corners, with lots of parked cars on both sides of the road, I’m having to kick out the clutch as I can’t lose enough speed just on the brakes to safely make these turns in case there’s something coming the other way.
Any advice/observations/comments would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.
Best regards,
L’anziano
(= the old man)

Idle is about 800-850rpm I think. I don't think it's adjustable on a TA either, though any number of things can cause high idle. You don't have the A/C on do you?

Idle is about 800-850rpm I think. I don't think it's adjustable on a TA either, though any number of things can cause high idle. You don't have the A/C on do you?

good point with the "loadings" of electrical items,(y)

my idle speed actually seems to be lower recently ( not in it today - so can't quote figures..);)

Charlie

Last edited: