General Turbo for fun

Currently reading:
General Turbo for fun

skarbanan

New member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
27
Has anyone tried to install a turbo but only in that way so the turbo get's spinned by gasses no really connecting it to the intercooler and so on....but just for having that sound....
 

custard

Status: DEFCON Grumpy
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
48,610
Location
Edinburgh
um you are kidding right?
if its not connected to the gasses hows it going to spin up?
if you have it getting gasses but going nowhere you have no exhaust

think you want one of those fake dump valves or exhaust spinners
 
OP
OP
S

skarbanan

New member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
27
No no no...it can be done...a guy got it done on a fiat punto sporting! :)
I'm not sure yet how it's done...but i know that the final part is excluded so that turbo really doesn't work but only spins...I think thaht the pipes have to be modified....
I wanted to see if someone has done that before...

I'll go monday to the mechanic to see if i could get the garr.k 21 turbo on my engine.If yes i'll post pictures...tomorrow is the day! :)
 

custard

Status: DEFCON Grumpy
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
48,610
Location
Edinburgh
so you have a turbo that is run of the exhaust gases,yes?so itt needs to be in the flow from the manifold,yes?
so you have a turbine spinning,yes?
so whats the noise you hear? a little whine/whistle from the turbine?

you can have a turbo in the exhaust pipe but its going to cost you power.chav add on IMO
you would need to mod the manifold or take on off a gt if it fits your head
 
Last edited:

JimMagill

Northern Ireland
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
8,858
Location
Carrickfergus
I'm thinking of putting a BE101E engine of a Boeing 747 into Sylvia for the American trip... Mmmm if we got some wings it would save on shipping too.

Anyway, has anyone tried this?

Does it mate to the standard Panda 5spd box or do you think I'd be better getting a Punto box? I hear from my mate 'Mackers' that the Sporting one is rated to the 45000hp of the Boeing engine but his mate 'Jaunty' says I'd get better acceleration of a 750 box because of it's lower gearing. I'd much perfer to use an orignal box and if the panda box does work would you recommend ZC90 oil or should I upgrade that too?

I've tried phoning both Fiat and Boeing but strangely they both keep hanging up on me.....:mad:

Jim

edit: Steering wheel or joystick? I've some bits left over from my old Sega mega drive and I've heard from my dad who's head of Airbus industries that steering wheels in pandas are more difficult to control at thirty five thousand feet plus? But the airbus digital fly by wire system won't work in my anaologe panda so I was thinking of replacing the steering wheel with the Megadrive D pad. Again, anybody any advice on that?

Maybe we should do a poll?:confused:
 
Last edited:

Pandarus

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
2,849
Location
Sleepy Suffolk
Hi Jim,

Yes the Panda is very hard to fly at 35 thousand feet - I put this down to it's aerodynamics...
 

JimMagill

Northern Ireland
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
8,858
Location
Carrickfergus
Pandarus said:
Hi Jim,

Yes the Panda is very hard to fly at 35 thousand feet - I put this down to it's aerodynamics...

Yes, that would be true but I was hopeing that the cut down 747 wings would help there....

But would it be anygood at hill climbs? My dad (who's now just been promoted to head of the CIA now as he felt he was going no where at AirBus) think that if I want to go hill climbing in it I'd be better do dump the Boeing engine and go for the Rolls Royce Ej1t engine as it has a better power to weight ratio and they sell panda gearbox adaptors for it in Halfords

Also my mate 'Jaunty' has experience of the Rolls Royce engine but only in MilkFloats:( But it should be the same, right?

Jim
 
OP
OP
S

skarbanan

New member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
27
I had in mind to put something like this and get on the turbo with the intention to whistle only.Just for fun

i dont like the turbo fakers for 18$ that are mounted on the exaust ;)
 

Attachments

  • 4cyl_Turbo_Manifold.jpg
    4cyl_Turbo_Manifold.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 8

JonnyBoy

Fat pigeon... APPLE!
Joined
May 29, 2003
Messages
4,990
Location
Doncaster, United Kingdom
So you're on about fitting a turbo but not connecting the compresser side of it up? Hmmm... pointless. By the time you've plumbed it into the exhaust you may as well sort out the induction side too and have more power. Or buy one of those bloody stupid electronic dump valve noise machines off ebay if you really must... :shakehead:
 

Hellcat

zombie nation
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
28,517
Location
on the A684
e505jpy said:
I'm thinking of putting a BE101E engine of a Boeing 747 into Sylvia for the American trip... Mmmm if we got some wings it would save on shipping too.

You forgot to ask if it would affect your insurance
 

hmallett

Mr Pedantic
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
5,102
Location
Wales
Meanwhile, back on topic... yes it could be done by not connecting the compressor side of the turbo, but it would make the car slower as it would restrict the exhaust gasses. Plus unless you put some form of filtration on the compressor side, then something would probably damage the turbo by getting sucked in, then your turbo's knackered.
So pretty pointless then.
H
 
OP
OP
S

skarbanan

New member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
27
well until i get the uno turbo engine eith gearbox is worth to play with the car. ;)
I wanted to put the turbo on just for having a cool sound...that's why i didn''t get the other parts.

Can someone get me for cheap a jet engine? :)
 

Alan.D

Ban the Mongol rally
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
13,622
Location
West Cumbria
e505jpy said:
Yes, that would be true but I was hopeing that the cut down 747 wings would help there....

But would it be anygood at hill climbs? My dad (who's now just been promoted to head of the CIA now as he felt he was going no where at AirBus) think that if I want to go hill climbing in it I'd be better do dump the Boeing engine and go for the Rolls Royce Ej1t engine as it has a better power to weight ratio and they sell panda gearbox adaptors for it in Halfords

Also my mate 'Jaunty' has experience of the Rolls Royce engine but only in MilkFloats:( But it should be the same, right?

Jim

PMSL :)
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
13,105
Location
Watford
skarbanan said:
I had in mind to put something like this and get on the turbo with the intention to whistle only.Just for fun

i dont like the turbo fakers for 18$ that are mounted on the exaust ;)

Why don't you record the sound of a turbo whistle, sample it, then copy and paste it into a sound program. Then you could loop it a few hundred times to make a 20 minute audio track and get it recorded onto CD.

Put CD into car stereo, play loudly with windows down.

Drive past a load of Chavs with badly modded Corsas/ Fiestas/ Saxos/ rusted away Novas :tosser: , and impress the section of the UK population with less brain cells than an amoeba.

Sorted (y)

Sorry to be negative, but this has to be the most pointless mod ever... :shakehead

However, E505 JPY's idea of using an aircraft jet engine is far more practicle:rolleyes:
 
Top