Technical Skydome fault

Currently reading:
Technical Skydome fault

At the end of summer, my skydome started making a bad grinding noise when I pushed the button to close it. It closed that time but won't open again (I just get the noise).

I'd like to get the thing fixed properly if economical but am also curious about maybe getting away with a manual workaround.

Haynes mentions a manual roof winder. I don't have one (there's a gap in the spare-wheel toolkit) and can't find one online. I don't even know what it looks like

I wonder actually whether I caused the failure by fitting roof rails and roof bars to the car perhaps adding some unhelpful tension to the roof's innards. If it's a choice between roof bars or sunroof, I'll fix the roof and get a Doblo...

Any advice very much welcomed! I'm no mechanic.

(Happy new year!)

Our Dynamic Eco has this roof. We've had the car for about 10 months now. Shortly after we got her I started to open the roof one day and Mrs Jock told me to close it immediately! She likes the glass roof and being able to slide the sun shields back and forwards but has never opened the roof as she doesn't like the wind and direct sunlight! Actually I have no particular wish to open it either so, after reading a few entries on the forum about people having problems with these roofs, we've decided we're just going to leave it closed!

Lack of use could leave the siding tracks dirty. Check the fuse, open it if possible and clean the slides. Check carefully for anything un-towards on the mechanism - switch catches etc.

HI.

I BELIEVE @weesmurf had one IIRC.

I my previous cars the handle was in the trim around the rearview mirror.

Does the handbook not cover this?

Charlie

Indeed I do. I'll check for the tool later if I remember. I'm not home right now and the boot is full of the kids' rubbish!