Technical QUESTION: Timing Belt went out on the Highway

Currently reading:
Technical QUESTION: Timing Belt went out on the Highway

jomeza001

Guys Yesterday I was on the hwy and out of a sudden my 2014 500L Fiat lost all power... engine light on the dash started blinking along with many more dash lights. I was able to maneuver it to pull over and finally the engine died.

If I try to fire it up I can hear the starter working but it sounds like if the starter had no load to turn.. it turns freely and effortlessly.

I am assuming the timing belt went off. Do you think that is?

If so, is it a matter of just replace the timing belt? Or is there a chance my head valves got bent? How can I check for valves to be ok?

I have all the tools to do the timing belt replace at home it's just I have never done a timing belt replace before.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I believe you have different engines - larger capacity - to the ones over here in Europe and the UK. Over here the 500 has an interference engine as far as I know so a broken timing belt nearly always results in damage to valves etc. Can you tell us what engine is in your car? then someone more knowledgeable than me can give you more info.

Don't guess about timing belt check it.
If the timing belt has broken then you will be looking for a replacement engine-yes the damage caused by a broken belt is catastrophic.
The problem could be something else but you need to check the timing belt first.

Just out of curiosity, how many miles/years did the car have after the previous cambelt change until this failure occurred?

Lots of people don't really care about the belts. Hopefully it'll be just the valves and a headgasket.

On much older 8 valve low compression engines with more substantial pistons and valve guides , sometimes it was possible / economically viable to repair the damage caused by a broken belt.