Technical Marea missing its head off! Any ideas?

Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
27
Location
West of Glasgow, UK
Hi All,

I have a Fiat Marea 1.6 16v Weekend. For the last 2 weeks or so, its been missing its head of on cold start, but then runs fine when warm.

Within the last week, its got worse, and now even when warm you can feel it missing at times. When your going down the motorway, RPM above 3000 it seems fine, but below RPM 3000 you can fell it missing!

I took the sparks out it last night and cleaned them up, the HT leads "seem" fine, and took the air filter out, and brushed it down. I even put some fuel cleaner down the petrol cap, to try and clean anything out.

Still its missing!!!
does anyone else have any ideas what to check?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Shaiboy_UK
 
OP
OP
shaiboy_uk
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
27
Location
West of Glasgow, UK
polecat said:
Did you check the spark plug condition before you cleaned them for clues?

Could be a weak spark.

Have you run a full tank of fuel since putting the cleaner in?

Check here http://www.bravo-guide.co.uk

Good luck

Hi,

Thanks for your reply polecat.

I had a look at each spark plug, they "seemed" fine, the end was a bit black, but nothing serious i think. Would it be worth buying a new set of sparks? much will that cost, you think?

i've put about £15 of fuel in since puting the fuel cleaner in, and no difference :(

Any other ideas?

Cheers
Shaiboy_UK
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
I had a misfire not that long ago caused by a faulty coil pack. I ordered the coil pack and a set of iridium performance plugs. The plugs came first and cured the misfire because they could perform with a weaker spark.

Normal set of plugs under £15. Iridium plugs are around £7 each. Try here http://www.sparkplugs.co.uk

No guarantee that it will work for you though.

Apart from a weak or interrupted spark you could have an injector or fuel flow problem. Check the fuel filter and fuel lines.

If there is nothing obvious you may have to go and get a diagnostic :(
 
OP
OP
shaiboy_uk
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
27
Location
West of Glasgow, UK
Hey,

thanks for your reply, but my car is off the road now :(

As the bottom flywheel came lose and on tighting it up, it would appear that the pickup is now not correct. So won't start!

Anyone know how to fix this? would this have caused the problems with it missing?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
Yes that would cause problems.
The rpm/timing sensor that is fitted externally should have a gap of between 0.5 and 1.5mm.
It is not adjustable. Could the bracket/sensor have been damaged?
 
OP
OP
shaiboy_uk
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
27
Location
West of Glasgow, UK
polecat said:
Yes that would cause problems.
The rpm/timing sensor that is fitted externally should have a gap of between 0.5 and 1.5mm.
It is not adjustable. Could the bracket/sensor have been damaged?

Hi again,

The sensor is adjustable, as it has two slide screw holding it, however this doesn't appeak to have move. Just the flywheel that this looks onto, the bolt holding it in place came loose, as said and after tighting it seems to have knocked this. How could i correct this? or is it a garage job?

Cheers
Shaiboy_UK
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
When you say that the flywheel has moved do you mean that it is no longer concentric or that it has moved along the shaft and is no longer opposite the sensor?

If the former you have a problem, if the latter there may be a locating lug that is not lining up because the flywheel rotated slightly. Sorry I can't be of more help on this but I've never had that in pieces before. The manual does show a small circle on the drawing between the bolts that could be a locating hole though.
 
OP
OP
shaiboy_uk
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
27
Location
West of Glasgow, UK
Hi,

I mean that the bolt that holds on the flywheel came lose, which it has previously done, and the hold for the bolt has been re-tapped for a bigger bolt, but yet again this came lose! the flywheel appears to be in line with the sensor, but could it be when it came lose this flywheel didn't rotate as much as it should do, meaning the spaces on the flywheel aren't lined up to the sensor? How can you re-align them? Whats the sensor for? timing? firing the sparks?

Cheers
Shaiboy_UK
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
3,344
Location
Newcastle - upon - Tyne
The sensor is for RPM/TDC and is linked to timing. I think you will have to get this one checked out at a garage as I don't know what effect any slippage on this signal will have.

Sorry :( and good luck.
 
Top