General How Do You Do An ECU Reset?

Currently reading:
General How Do You Do An ECU Reset?

deejaysee

New member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
7
......On a 2002 JTD?
I'm sure its been using more fuel than usual lately. Worth a try isnt it?

Before anyone bitches, i've done a search on here already and not found anything.

Cheers
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
1,854
Location
Scotland
Whens the last time it had new spark plugs and oil change? That can effect your fuel consumption if its not changed for its yearly service, to reset your ECU though you only have to disconnect your batterie over night.
 

joe-bloggs

I am the STIG!!!!!!!!!!!!
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
246
Location
Skelmersdale
Im thinking of doing this becasue mine is **** (approx 30 mpg all the time) and i am getting it serviced soon.

Alos think cos someone started modifying my car that they may have put one of those "£2 superchip resistor thingio". Becasue they make it run crap and swig the juice.
 

a1ant

-~Moderator~-
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,266
Location
UK
Hi,

Best way to reset the ecu is to disconnect the battery and leave it for an hour or so.

Thanks,

Alan
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2004
Messages
25,221
If anything a ECU reset will only make it worse (for the first 300-400miles at least). I'd check other things as T says, air filter and even simple things like tyre pressures ;).
 

Shaunyboyuk

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
198
Try a shot of redex in your fuel, thats what i do every so often, cleans the muck out of the fuel injection system and makes it run a bit better :)
 
Top