Technical Hatch down by the gear stick sticks out, any solution?

Currently reading:
Technical Hatch down by the gear stick sticks out, any solution?

PuntoPilot

Hey all.

I'm a newbie to the forum, yet a proud owner of a 500 Twin Air Plus. I'm based in the UK which is naturally right hand drive and was wondering if any of you modifiers out there know of any way in which the small hatch down the side of the gear box part of the dashboard is replaceable with one that doesn't stick out for the fingers (I think it's the fuse box). The hatch has a raised bump that allows fingers to pull open but in mainland Europe this would be situated on the passenger side. For myself I find that it digs permanently into my leg and makes the any journey super uncomfortable (actually quite painful) which is something Fiat clearly missed when they made the UK version.

Has anyone has a similar problem and found any fix? I'm guessing the fix would be to replace the whole hatch itself but finding one that meets the requirements and a flat lip seems impossible.

If anyone has any ideas that would be brilliant. I hope I'm not the only one with this problem. Lol! :bang:

Many thanks
Nick