Technical Engine light flashing and car stalling - Fiat Punto

Currently reading:
Technical Engine light flashing and car stalling - Fiat Punto

JodieW

Hello!

Newbie here, owner of 65 plate Punto looking for advice. I'll keep it short...

Car was serviced, was recommended that I had a new timing belt fitted - took it to another garage (200 cheaper than original quote) for timing belt to be changed. Timing belt was changed and the same day following collection of the vehicle, the engine light started flashing and the car stalling. Took it back to garage where timing belt had been changed and did diagnostic test, which showed cylinder 1&4 was misfiring. The took the car back and changed the ignition coil and when I picked it up, all seemed fine, however, 2 miles in the drive the same thing happened again, engine light flashing and stalling. Was advised that if this wasn't the issue, it could potentially be the ECU (computer in the car?! - apologies for the terminology!) Garage said that they wouldn't take responsibility for this as they only changed the timing belt.

I took the car to a friend of a friend who works for fiat, he did a phonic wheel drive set (?!?) all seemed fine until this morning and BAM the engine light came on again and car has been stalling.

Any advise?

Hello!