Technical Body Control Module BCM questions

Currently reading:
Technical Body Control Module BCM questions

Genesius

I all. I’m new to Fiat so bear with me.

I’ve bought a Punto Sporting 2011.
It’s got some BCM issues relating to airbags and stop start.
The previous owner said it needed the BCM sorting.

I’m looking and there’s so much info I can’t seem to find what I need.

What exactly do I need to do? Previous owner said if I find a BCM with the same numbers it’s a straight swap. Is this true? What numbers, because there are a few on the sticker.

Thank you for your help

Very much doubt if it would be a straight swap. Some sort of "virginisation" of a second hand unit would probably be needed? and then it would need to be electronically introduced to the vehicle systems? However let's take a wee step back before we go spending lots of dosh. There are two very common problems on small Fiats which need checked out first as they can cause all manner of problems.

This is going to sound stupidly simple but get your battery properly checked out. It needs to be in tip top condition, these vehicles don't like "iffy" batteries and just because it starts the engine doesn't mean it's good enough to satisfy the electronics! Also take a detailed look at the engine earth cable which can corrode badly. Both these things can cause stop/start to drop out and other "strange" things to happen.

If the battery is good then you need to identify exactly what the car thinks is wrong with it so you need to get a read out of stored trouble codes and you'll need a code reader or scanner for that. If you plan on working on Italian cars much then I can strongly recommend Multiecuscan: https://www.gendan.co.uk/multiecusc...8DtJ8kna_zbH6Y3SZU2hYMJ3qT7u9sdkaAkcKEALw_wcB I've intentionally linked you with Gendan who are well worth a call to discuss what might be best for you. I've bought stuff from them, including Multecuscan and find their backup second to none.