Technical accelerator cable

Currently reading:
Technical accelerator cable

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
guys, i would really appreciate your rapid response here to my issue! Whilst driving back home today i had my cable snap, i have spoken to paul at motormech and he says that its a simple job to be done and can be fitted by a garage in apporx 30 mins, however, i have also spoken to a friend who own an italian car garage and he says that its a full day job and will cost the thick end of a grand, ie, engine out job! PLEASE HELP!
 

hmallett

Mr Pedantic
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
5,102
Location
Wales
I know which one of those two I'd agree with. :)
I believe that it's fiddly, but can be done quickly once you know how to do it. I haven't done it myself though.
H
 

pinin__prestatyn

smell my cheese
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
3,675
Location
house
I'd trust motormech. One problem is the accelerator cable for the coupe is like gold dust, the specialists buy either a universal one or a peugeot item and modify it slightly to fit.
 

pete_h

New member
Joined
Feb 4, 2006
Messages
143
i know on my 16v the accelerator cable is a bit of a pain to get to BUT engine out, that is a laugh!

Trust motormech
 
OP
OP
S

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
thanks for your help and advise guys, i was ****ting my self at the thought of a grand to pay for this! i should have known better really as the same italian guy ripped me off for my MOT when i first got the car! Anyway, the mishappenings have earned me a well eanred extra day off work, so i best get to the garage in the morning and try and sort out this elusive part for the car! Again, many thanks fellas!(y) (y)
 
OP
OP
S

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
well, the good news is that my coop is back on the road, and the even better news is that it cost me £36 for the part, and only £35 for the fitting, and the guy that has fitted it has never done any work on any sort of coop in his life, it took him 45 mins for the whole job! Last time i ask for advice from an italian garage owner!!:slayer:
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2003
Messages
29,313
Location
Llanymynech
What i dont understand is.. if you knew he ripped you off before then why did you even bother to ask him how much it would be.

Any advice of that kind ask Paul!!!

Good news its all sorted though. But i wouldnt have got a garage who hasnt worked on a coupe before to have done the work.
 

hmallett

Mr Pedantic
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
5,102
Location
Wales
Good news! You might find your car feels a bit faster now too. If the old cable had stretched, with the pedal to the floor the throttle might not have been 100% open. The new unstretched cable cures this.
H
 
OP
OP
S

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
sammiboo said:
What i dont understand is.. if you knew he ripped you off before then why did you even bother to ask him how much it would be.

Any advice of that kind ask Paul!!!

Good news its all sorted though. But i wouldnt have got a garage who hasnt worked on a coupe before to have done the work.

when stuck in a relativley foreign part of the country, i had to use what ever resources i had, and i had friends in the centre of leeds, fair comment though. The garage accross the road said that they have worked on a coupe before, when i dropped it off the guy wasnt there, after it transpired that he has worked on a Punto GT!

With regards to the speed, it feels a bit quicker, but it is also slightly easier to push the pedal down, not as much resistance, i will get my mate in manchester to check it out for me, unless you hav any suggestions H??
 

hmallett

Mr Pedantic
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
5,102
Location
Wales
smoo said:
The garage accross the road said that they have worked on a coupe before, when i dropped it off the guy wasnt there, after it transpired that he has worked on a Punto GT!
Well they are very similar... :rolleyes:
On the accelerator cable there is a white adjuster screw to take the slack out of the cable. With a new cable I'm sure this would have been adjusted - you can't miss it if you're changing the cable. Over time it might need adjusting to compensate for the stretch in the cable.
H
 
OP
OP
S

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
its sat at just above 1K revs when idleing, before, it was sat at just below 1K, so i will need to get that sorted as its running too quick i assume!???:confused:
 

hmallett

Mr Pedantic
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
5,102
Location
Wales
Idle speed should be 800 rpm I think, unless the battery is low, or a higher speed is needed to control emissions.
As you've just had the cable changed, I reckon it's a bit too tight, so the throttle is slightly open.
Open the bonnet, locate the accelerator cable, and the white adjuster on it. Loosen off the adjuster, then retighten it so that there's no slack in the cable.
H
 

linda1

New member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
1
smoo where did u get your accelerator sorted? where did you get the part from and which garage did you go to?
 
OP
OP
S

smoo

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
93
Location
Salford Quays (Manchester)
smoo where did u get your accelerator sorted? where did you get the part from and which garage did you go to?

got the work done in leeds, as thats where it happened! dunno what the garage is called, but its on the right hand side just before you gets to cross gates town centre, come off at junction 46 of the A1M. the part was ordered from fiat direct and delivered to the garage!
 

dataz

New member
Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
1
hi does anyone konw how to get hold of a throttle cable for fiat coupe 1996 much appreciated:D
 
Top