strong smell of petrol

Currently reading:
strong smell of petrol

sharonbowen

hi,

I'm new to driving (not been able to afford a car in years!) new to Fiats (Cinquecento Sporting) and have new problems (as if life aint bad enough,and now I have wheels to deal with!!)
I began noticing a strong smell of petrol in the car about 2 week ago.
Sometimes when approaching my car in a carpark I can smell it before I see it!
Not good!
Theres never any sign of petrol on the floor of where I've parked.
Therefore I am assuming there isnt a leak as such!
Never had to do any car maintenance before so feel pretty 'virginesque'.
Worried about the twitching curtains as my car is parked in full view of neighbours while I am faffing under the bonnet etc without a clue!!!
Any ideas what could be the cause of the smell?
Directions of how to get there as well please.
I dont even know where to put water in!!!

Sharon

PS..Why does the smell of petrol make you hungry?
It is costing me a fortune! I take my 4 kids out and were all starving!
As soon as we smell petrol we have the munchies!

Welcome to F/Forum :wave: I think eating munchies is better that sniffing petrol :eek: but please get it checked out for yours and the childrens safety IE pull sleeping Husband out of his arm chair and head him in general direction of the car and if nessesary lift bonnet for him :p :D

ha ha PNL!!
Would be good idea but unfortunately for him he decided to leave me n his 4 wonderful kids for the single life!!(n)
I'm happy with that now tho plus he was never one to look under bonnet/diy/do gardening etc!(y)
I have conquered the latter two through years of experience of him sleeping on chair while I gave it some trial and error!
Dont fancy trial and error with a hunk of metal!!
I am learning things as I read these posts though to give me the confidence to look into things before getting ripped off!!.

Thanks AppleSei...I now have water in the car.Will need a funnel as quite tricky to aim for with my jug!!!!