General Strange Tipo Steam Issue

Currently reading:
General Strange Tipo Steam Issue

TipoDGT

Hi everyone,:)
Recently inherited a 1991 Fiat Tipo 1.4 DGT (74,600 genuine miles) 9months MOT, off of my Father who sadly passed away recently.

Up until recently the Teapot has been starting fine, however, recently, I have had an issue where the Teapot is difficult to start but does start with a lot of revving! I have also noticed a bit of steam coming out of the radiator grille (around the radiator expansion tank area) but goes quickly. I have put this down to the damp weather in the UK? although the Teapot is Garaged.
Once the Teapot is at temprature, the engine is smooth and quiet and is a real pleasure to drive and I am really learning to love my Teapot LOL!
I have tried tweaking the cold idle screw to improve tick over when cold but this has made no difference.:bang:
Please excuse my ignorance with regard to the above:confused: but I am not a mechanically mined person:eek:
I am wondering if the car is missing my Dad LOL
Thanks for any advice you can give with regard to the above.
ROB.:)

Hello Rob, and welcome,

the 1st BIG question is are you 100% sure it's not losing coolant..from the rad.. / or elsewhere,
check the level in the garage = COLD,
then do the same again after a few trips - level shouldn't move at all..!!

I loved my old Tipots,
petrol like yours , and the mighty 2.0 TD's ..fantastic.. really liked the way they drove.

I hope you can get to the bottom of this..,
Charlie

Hi Charlie,:)
Thank you for your response, will check hoses(condition and connections), and general condition of Radiator etc...
Will re-post if I find anything unusual:eek:
Kind regards,
Rob.:)

Head gasket?

I hope not, bit I think it likely. I once had a 1.4ies that displayed these symptoms and sure as eggs are eggs.............you know it. :idea: