Technical Speaker change question

Currently reading:
Technical Speaker change question

ForeverWhite

Hello

I've had my fiat bravo for a few months now and loved it. I'm now looking at modifying it and improving it. The first thing I decided to do was change the speakers in the car, I'm a total noob when it comes to electricals so will be getting a garage to do it.

I have already taken it to one garage and they told me the car would need pods to be able to mount the speaker and allow the window to be wound down, is there anyway around this ? Has anyone installed speakers themselves ?

Would just like some info for getting some new speakers installed

Thanks

Hi bro.. I changed my 4 speaker for my bravo.. My garage also share the problem of speaker problem like yours initially.. They told me the window will hit against the speaker if I install the speakers and I was given 2 option.. First was getting a adaptor moulded to offset the speaker out more.. 2nd option which I chose was getting speaker with thinner magnetic coil, no problem so far.. Hope it helps.. /cheers..

Thanks zxaw. Which speakers did you go with in the end? I was advised by my audio dealer to look at the Pioneer TS-A171CI (w/e they are) at £90.

As the TS-A17xxx comes with separate tweeters, have you considered replacing the originals too?

Last question, this adapter, pod. I understand what it is, but as no one refers the the 'new bravo', I'm not sure I'm buying the correct part for my model.

Thanks for any knowledge you've gained.

If you're looking at improving the sound quality in your car then replacing only the speakers will achieve almost nothing.

If you're a newbie to this subject I suggest you check a tutorial on the basics of ICE, if you have questions I'll be glad to help.

Concerning adapter rings, most professional don't buy the plastic ones, they cut their own rings from MDF material which is the best for sound quality as well as cheaper :

rings.jpg

Last edited: