Technical reverse gear judder

Currently reading:
Technical reverse gear judder

bankjobbob

Hi Forum newbie here and as always drawn in with a question, but hopefully as i learn will become an attractive member,
I have a 07 burstner 747 with 85k on the clock as i come on or off the power in sixth gear the gearstick moves up and down a lot
and as i’ve been considering a engine remap though i best get the drivetrain sorted first. reverse gear in these is incredible long and i’ve hated riding the clutch to get up hills or to keep speed down. but i now read that this was something that Fiat addressed at the time and fitted a lower gear on recall if owners badgered them. if i’m having the box rebuilt i’d like to do this mod at the same time, But i can’t find any recent info on google
can anyone here give me any pointers on any of the above?
much appreciated bob
IMG_1239.jpeg

An example..
Thanks for taking the time to reply
i will have to school myself better
on the the forum search, i have looked but can’t find the golden
post “this firm , these parts “
best regards bob

I would suspect part of the problem is the bottom engine mount, but could be wrong.
An easy check is with the engine off and out of gear, try to see how much movement you get by trying to rock the engine backward and forward.
If you do notice movement, then you probably have the older bottom mount which was weak and helped to cause judder and
noticable gear lever movement when driving.
Also check the top mounts as these can start to fail with age.
I think now, all engine mounts will be of the newer type, but probably part numbers (early to later) would need to be checked.

A stronger mount was introduced in 2008'ish by FIAT and did make a difference, BUT, the reverse gear ratio was far too high. Very roughly
it works out at about 8MPH when engine revs are around 1000RPM. Now try to reverse at 1-2MPH and you have to slip the clutch. Fine on the