OT: £3000 challenge

Currently reading:
OT: £3000 challenge

I

Insomnia

Currently I have a 1.2 Bravo as the daily runner and the coop as the weekend toy.

The coop is staying and under no circumstances to be sold but I'm looking at replacing the Bravo with something.

Thing is, I have no idea what.

On a budget of £3k ish I'd like something that is stylish, smart, economical and fun. I appreciate that somewhere one or more of these desires will be sacrificed.

I had been looking at some MG ZRs (160 and TD variants) but as I'm 6'6" tall, I found them tiny, even in comparison to my Bravo.

I'm a kitchen designer and travel around Kent so the engine needs to be something strong and will tolerate high miles. My current 1.2 handles the miles well but naturally a higher powered engine will cruise a little better on long journeys.

I'm not a speed freak and generally drive like a grandad everywhere. Servicing I without fail do and usually before time. Nothing but the best for my motors.

So with all that in mind, any ideas or suggestions what I could look at? I'm going round in circles :D

Longest Serving BOO Member
sig2.jpg

Bravo: Nov 01 80SX / 75,000 miles
Coupe: Feb 97 20V N/A / 135,000 miles

how about the mg zs insy
them are really big and a gorgeous drive

ive had a zr105 and i drive my mates zs180 all the time, the zs is really spacious and quite economical on motorways supprised me for a 2.5 v6

ZS I thought was tiny.

Clanking of doors instead of thudding doesn't inspire quality and the fact that its designed for 4' high people doesn't help! - the seat only goes back a short distance.

sig2.jpg

do you want to buy a 155 engine with 38k
my cousins 20vt is goin in next 2 weeks

Alfa GTV 2.0 TS.Seats sit quite low,so would be ok for your height.Quite economical,extermely stylish and easy to drive.Cambelt will set you back about £450 tho :(

Ant: If I was to buy a 155 engine, I'd want the rest of the car to go with it :)

sig2.jpg