General Indicator cancels before I have turned

Currently reading:
General Indicator cancels before I have turned

Vikki500

Hi, I found some old threads about this from 2009 and wondered if this was still a quirk of the Fiat 500 and therefore not a fault that can be fixed? My indicator is forever cancelling itself before I have completed the turn and I have to put it back on. This is really distracting on a roundabout when I have indicated to go right, go slightly left to make the turn and it turns itself off as I’m less than half way round the roundabout. I’m a new driver and roundabouts are my biggest fear and it’s really distracting me. I have a 2018 model. Is this still just something you have to put up with? Thank you!

Funny you mention that. I drove a 2018 Fiat 500 a few weeks ago after a long time away and muscle memory kicked in with reapplying the indicator stalk mid roundabout. All Fiats I've driven do the same thing and I've become accustomed to holding the steering wheel but covering my left hand fingers over the indicator stalk to prevent it from cancelling when I don't want it to. This gives the headspace to do the more important things on a roundabout.

This has been happening and mentioned ever since the 500(and maybe pandas and others previously!) was introduced! seems to be a Fiat design trait.

Its something to do with a manual part of the steering gear that "flicks" the stalk catch/lock off when you turn the wheel! but its been made to do this a little to enthusiastically.

I daresay that some clever mechanical genius could work out a way to re-do it to stop it happening but as far as i know theres nothing available at present, and if you consider the costs of striping out the parts working out what to do and then doing it.- it is probably not financially viable to do it!, therefore the only recourse is to adapt your driving style to compensate and re-apply the indication when needed!.