General how do you change the hand brake cable to fit punto GT calipers?

Currently reading:
General how do you change the hand brake cable to fit punto GT calipers?

arc

this is where i stand
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
19,719
Location
Manchester
there is a loop on the end of cable. cut it off. ta-da, your done!

and dont cut the springs off like i did (why.. i dont know why i did) - it'll still work, just feel odd!
 
Last edited:

GoBe

New member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
719
And now you have clean end to a cable and no way to attach it to the calliper, I've looked and I can't work out how cutting the end off my handbrake cable is going to help me at all.

Is it too much to ask for someone to take a picture of their rear calliper handbrake bracket to show people like me how they've attached their handbrake cable?
 

arc

this is where i stand
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
19,719
Location
Manchester
And now you have clean end to a cable and no way to attach it to the calliper, I've looked and I can't work out how cutting the end off my handbrake cable is going to help me at all.

Is it too much to ask for someone to take a picture of their rear calliper handbrake bracket to show people like me how they've attached their handbrake cable?

:bang: :bang: :bang: :bang: :bang:

do you want drawing in crayon

:bang: :bang: :bang: :bang: :bang:

and as for the picture...

https://www.fiatforum.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=28070

been there since the 17th of aug, seriously - why do i bother if people cannot be arsed to just look for stuff.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Andi1985

Andi1985

New member
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
161
Location
Chesterfield
that might be fun :D arc you never did pm me back on the fittings of the pipes for the rear converision
 

arc

this is where i stand
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
19,719
Location
Manchester
sorry, thought i had: 60/65 cm, cento fittings one side - and GT the other side. cost about £40 from earls in silverstone.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
5,151
Location
Towcester, Northants
there is a loop on the end of cable. cut it off. ta-da, your done!

and dont cut the springs off like i did (why.. i dont know why i did) - it'll still work, just feel odd!

I threw the springs away on the two I have done, you don't need them cos the sprirg is part of the calliper return mechanism you can see it in your picture,handbrake felt spot on in both, though maybe because both times I did it the callipers were BigRedd refurbished units so as good as new.
 
OP
OP
Andi1985

Andi1985

New member
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
161
Location
Chesterfield
any news on when jordan is getting this mounts posted as i need them before fri, and its getting awfully close now!!!
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2005
Messages
5,983
Do you have the same style caliper as arc or the newer style like I have?


I haven't fitted mine yet, but the mechanism is in a different place, and may be slightly longer. I'm sure the thread of the handbrake adjustment will compensate though.

As for hoses...I have a goodridge supplier literally the next street from my work who can make up whatever i need that day :slayer:

I have a spare car all week, so the work shall be done in the evenings hopefully. If I get the hoses made before you, I'll let you know what I got (y)

Kristian
 

GoBe

New member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
719
Arc:
1) I used forum search and didn't get a useful hits
2) I haven't got the same type of calliper as you or kritip :bang:
3) if one person had replied to my previous requests with a something along the lines of "you crimp a lug on the end" I've known that I've got problems as that WILL NOT WORK for the callipers I have.
 

cartledge_uk

F.I.R.E. power
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
264
Location
Newbury
Arc:
1) I used forum search and didn't get a useful hits
2) I haven't got the same type of calliper as you or kritip :bang:
3) if one person had replied to my previous requests with a something along the lines of "you crimp a lug on the end" I've known that I've got problems as that WILL NOT WORK for the callipers I have.

Post up pics of your calipers
 

GoBe

New member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
719
They're at work packed up ready to be sent off for refurb, as I want to make sure everything fitted together before spending £140 on getting them refurbed.

Basically they're similar to arc's except where the cable joins I have a larger 2/3 loop shape spur sticking out perpendicular to the main leaver arm. I'd think about remanufacturing the pivot from the 'cento handbrake mech or making up a new pivot and utilise the loop of the end of the cable. The whole reason of me wanting a picture more detailed information is what I had in my hands and what people were writing did not make any sense to me.
 

Brooky

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
4,496
Location
Lancaster
cost about £40 from earls in silverstone.

Earls are v.good, very helpfull and good delivery times, but i ordered a hose for a nitrous pressure gauge and they put the wrong fitting on one end. But i can get away with it as i need 90degree adaptors anyway to fit the gauges to the dash
 

cartledge_uk

F.I.R.E. power
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
264
Location
Newbury
They're at work packed up ready to be sent off for refurb, as I want to make sure everything fitted together before spending £140 on getting them refurbed.

Basically they're similar to arc's except where the cable joins I have a larger 2/3 loop shape spur sticking out perpendicular to the main leaver arm. I'd think about remanufacturing the pivot from the 'cento handbrake mech or making up a new pivot and utilise the loop of the end of the cable. The whole reason of me wanting a picture more detailed information is what I had in my hands and what people were writing did not make any sense to me.

Are yours off the punto GT still?

Sorry I cant quite understand what you mean, if you have a pic or find one on the net I may be able to suggest something.
 

rallycinq

Autotest Special
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
24,589
Location
Lake District....Moist
On the subject of hoses, there are many local suppliers of hose and they will make up exactly the length you want with exactly the ends that you want.

I got mine made to come up through the floor to avoid connections and fixed pipe.

Cheers

D
 

arc

this is where i stand
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
19,719
Location
Manchester
I haven't crimped a lug on the end, i cut the loop of. Not the whole end of the cable, as you can see you need that for connecting to the caliper.

re the hoses, yeah - you don't need to go to any sort of specialist place - should be somewhere local that'll do it.
 

GoBe

New member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
719
How the cable is ended is immaterial, what you've done is chop off the bit that when I look at the callipers I have think is a part of the cable I need to get a working handbrake, which has been the source of my confusion.

cartledge_uk, according to the breakers one set came from a Punto GT the other from another fiat, both sets look the same. They may have been miss-labelled or someone packed the wrong sets up & why I'm not sent them of to be refurbed until the carrier plates arrive (no way in hell I'm spending £260 to get both sets refurbed only to find they're wrong).
 

cartledge_uk

F.I.R.E. power
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
264
Location
Newbury
OK, from what I have seen there are 2 types of punto GT caliper.

1. direct lever as arc has.

2. it is labeled as lever on top in the catalogs and is from the earlier PUNTO GT's (no pics though)

I presume yours is the later (2) that you have.

How to fix the mechanism is the next thing, if the lever is different then the way it will work will obviously be different, and so it may need some ingenuity, or cable re-routing etc, we'll have to see some pics though to do that.

and

How much to refurb :eek:

Have you thought about getting a kit and having a go yourself? http://www.brakeparts.co.uk/ do kits IIRC
 
Top