Fit your own cruise control

Explain how to do it:


Look at the fuse box near the battery under there is 4 wiring plug. If your don't have then you need to wiring up from ECU pin number 41, 58, 8 and 9 (SEE WIRING DIAGRAM)


1) Check the fuse number F1 70amps is insert and go interior look at the fuse number F37 10amps, F42 7.5amps, F49 7.5amps and F53 10 amps if your is not there insert it. The clutch switch check if your still have them if not you can buy them from EBay £6


2) My Alfa 147 cruise control stalk from scrapyard £14.99 with 5 pins (5 wiring) remove undercover from steering wheel, the cruise stalk arm holder remove the second hole (see picture) with file till the hole disappear otherwise it won't fit, tight up with one screw.


3) Drill a 7mm hole under near the heated fan motor on the passenger side, buy 4 of 5amps 3 meters wiring and put it through the hole from inside it will be more easy.


4) Cut the plug off from fuse box in the engine and tight it up 4 wires with pearl terminal blocks, and connect it to your own 5amps wiring from the interior (to make sure to put up label and write the colour name at end of wire at interior)


5) Cut off the cruise stalk plug and fit same 5 pearl terminal blocks


the colour wiring match is:


Switch on/off: yellow to the ignition wire with 7.5amps fuse


Resume button: green with green/yellow


info send to ECU: orange with light blue


- decrease speed: dark green (some have black or navy) with red/grey


+increase speed: red with red/yellow


6) On HGT and Eleganza already have setting from ECU which is not required to relearn, you can see cruise light icon on speedometer when you switch it on.
(But I am not sure about the Sporting, Dynamic and the Active mind need to use Multiecuscan and relearn it)


Test drive to make sure the cruise go off when touch the brake, clutch some other Fiat it will go off when apply the handbrake and pull out of gear.
Try to use the increase and decrease speed knob and the resume button,


if everything is works fine then tape up all the connect to protection from damp/wet and short circuit then refit the undercover.


Good luck!
 

Attachments

  • 01 check plug & fuse.jpg
    01 check plug & fuse.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 53
  • 02 check interior fuse.jpg
    02 check interior fuse.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 48
  • 03 file off hole.jpg
    03 file off hole.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 35
  • 04 stalk fit.jpg
    04 stalk fit.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 53
  • 05 cut off.jpg
    05 cut off.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 37
  • 06 refit wiring.jpg
    06 refit wiring.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 51
  • 07 drill 7mm hole.jpg
    07 drill 7mm hole.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 46
  • 08 cut off.jpg
    08 cut off.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 48
  • 09 connect with clip.jpg
    09 connect with clip.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 55
  • 10 insert fuse.jpg
    10 insert fuse.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 55
  • 11 wiring diagram 1.jpg
    11 wiring diagram 1.jpg
    188.8 KB · Views: 70
  • 12 location.jpg
    12 location.jpg
    169 KB · Views: 78
Last edited:

Lightning

putting the roads on fire
Joined
Oct 6, 2014
Messages
48
Location
Le Havre
3) Drill a 7mm hole under near the heated fan motor on the passenger side, buy 4 of 5amps 3 meters wiring and put it through the hole from inside it will be more easy.
As inside the cruise control stalk, there is a 330 ohms resistor that limits the current to more or less 40 milliamperes (under 12 volts), you can use 0.2 mm² wires
.
 
OP
OP
F

fv43576

Donated
Joined
Jan 6, 2015
Messages
292
As inside the cruise control stalk, there is a 330 ohms resistor that limits the current to more or less 40 milliamperes (under 12 volts), you can use 0.2 mm² wires
.
Thanks for advice, my was 0.5mm wiring, people have different opinion of choose.
 
OP
OP
F

fv43576

Donated
Joined
Jan 6, 2015
Messages
292
Update: change some words & correct wiring colour. the photo is on https://www.fiatforum.com/punto-ii/433490-cruise-retrofit-punto-2.html

Look at the fuse box near the battery under fuse there is 4 wiring plug. If your don't have then you need to wiring up from ECU pin number 41, 58, 8 and 9 (SEE WIRING DIAGRAM)

1) Check the fuse number F1 70amps is insert and go interior look at the fuse number F37 10amps, F42 7.5amps, F49 7.5amps and F53 10 amps if your is not there insert it.
The clutch sensor make sure it have them or otherwise if brake sensor fail it can't be switch off the cruise control, that is why have extra safety to deactivate it on clutch when press. You can buy sensor from eBay £6

2) My Alfa 147 cruise control stalk from scrapyard £14.99 with 5 pins (5 wiring) remove undercover from steering wheel, the cruise stalk arm holder remove the second hole (see picture) with file till the hole disappear otherwise it won't fit, tight it up with one screw.

3) Drill a 7mm hole under near the heated blow fan motor on the passenger side, buy 4 of 3 meters wiring max up to 15amps. If it is greater than 15amps it will be too thick to put through the hole! Put wire out from interior is more easy.

4) Cut the plug off on fuse box at engine bay. Tight it up 4 wires with 4 pearl terminal blocks, and connect it to your wiring from the interior (to make sure to put up label and write the colour name at end of wire or follow by multimeter resistance switch to 200)

5) Cut off the cruise stalk plug and fit same 5 pearl terminal blocks

the colour wiring match is:

Switch on/off: yellow to the ignition wire with 7.5amps fuse

Resume button: green with green/yellow

Signal to ECU: orange with light blue

- decrease speed: dark green (some have black or navy) with red/yellow

+increase speed: red with red/grey

6) On HGT and Eleganza already have setting from ECU which is not required to relearn, you can see cruise light icon on speedometer when you switch it on. update 1.3 multijet Dynamic it will work

(But I am not sure about the Sporting and Active it mind need to use Multiecuscan and relearn it) update it will work on Dynamic without relearn

Test drive to make sure the cruise go off when touch the brake, clutch some other Fiat it will go off when apply the handbrake and pull out of gear.
Try to use the increase and decrease speed knob and the resume button,
if everything is works fine then tape up all the connect to protection from damp/wet and short circuit then refit the undercover.

Good luck!
 
Last edited:

Dreamhazard

New member
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
10
Does anyone have a labelled pinout diagram of the engine fusebox so I can connect into it?
 

kido resuri

New member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
164
Any pinout diagram for the 1.3 Multijet? The document doesn't mention this engine type, so is it true, that the 1.3D has built in cruise control?
 

DaveMcT

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
17,647
Will this work on a Panda 100HP? I mean does it also have the capability within the ECU?
 

Nev356

New member
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
1
Does anyone know weather the Punto mk2/b 1.2 8v petrol version has a clutch detection switch. I am unable to find anything in the haynes manual or on the internet.
 
Top