General Fiat 500L - Engine not idling

Currently reading:
General Fiat 500L - Engine not idling

Hi everyone,

I have an idling problem with my Fiat, and I was wondering if anyone here can help guide me. I’m not a mechanic but based on everything I’ve read on this forum, I was able to get my engine running, at least.

I have a 1970 Fiat 500L with a 126A engine (595cc) and a 28 IMB carburetor, named Bellucci. According to the previous owner, this car used to run but I’m not sure how or for how long. The car sat for several years in his garage without it being started, so I thought it was a perfect idea to buy it from him. :)

I have taken the carburetor down and cleaned it out entirely. I soaked it, removed all debris, and made sure that both the choke and throttle levers snapped back into place without any hesitation. The float needle has been replaced along with the gaskets. The plastic seat that sits between the carb and the engine used to have a crack in it so that’s been replaced as well. I used an air gun to dry all the cavities and used a needle to make sure nothing was blocking any holes to the best of my abilities. I’ve confirmed that fuel is making it into the carb by taking the top off after running the engine for 10 minutes. The carb bowl has plenty of clean fuel in it.

The gas tank has been fully cleaned out. A new fuel sender has been installed. A new air filter has been installed. A new battery has been installed. The oil has been changed. Spark plugs have been replaced and a new T line has been installed where fuel can circulate from the carb back into the main fuel line. The fuel pressure is strong. I have not touched the distributor nor made any adjustments to it. At this point, I'm 30% an IT guy and 70% a wannabe mechanic and I'm starting to rethink my life's decisions.