Technical Coolant temperature weirdness - is it OK?

Currently reading:
Technical Coolant temperature weirdness - is it OK?

mmbravo

Hello !

Im a new owner of 1998 Bravo TD100 (100hp), and I noticed some weird stuff according to my coolant temperature gauge and i dont know if this is OK or not, or what could be the fault, since im new to fiats.

I have this type of instrument cluster in my car and i noticed some weird behaviour of the coolant temp needle.
DSC_89061463651821.JPG

I check the coolant level regularly, and it is OK (between min/max marks on cold engine).
But im having hard time getting the car to operating temperature (which i assume is around the middle - bolder mark on the gauge).
The needle only goes to middle mark when drivign through mountain pass slowly (behind trucks), city driving or standing still idling, the air from the blowers then is hot and radiator fan starts to spin as soon as the car hits the middle mark.
As soon as speed increases (just 50kph is enough), the needle drops pretty quickly. On cold winter days it goes even back to "C" mark, in hot summer it stays around 2nd or 3rd mark. The air going from the blower is significantly less warm as when on middle mark.
When i stop, it goes back to middle mark. I can gain little increase of temperature when i shift at 3500rpm or turn the A/C on but it never gets further than 3rd mark and i usually shift at around 2500rpm.

I daily drive the car (around 100 kilometers) across mountain pass and some extra-urban roads, and the lowest consumption i could get was 6.2l/100km. I saw (spritmonitor.de) that these cars can get lower than 6l, so i assume something is wrong.

What could be the cause ? Or is this normal behaviour? Faulty thermostat ? Faulty temperature sensor? The car has some other minor flaws, but i assume this is the most important thing.

Thank you for your ideas!

Sounds like thermostat.