Technical Bootrack.........Fitting????

Currently reading:
Technical Bootrack.........Fitting????

R30GUE

New member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
193
Location
Luxembourg
Hey guys, just a quick question before i buy bootrack to fit on my barchetta as i will be driving to Slovakia in December and i'm gonna need it.

Original Mazda MX 5 Adjustable bootrack as pictured below.....has anyone fitted or have experience with using it on a Barchetta???
 

Attachments

  • ef79_12.jpg
    ef79_12.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 3

Flash!

New member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
25
Location
Isleworth
These bolt on boot racks are contoured to the boot rack for the car they're designed for, so as Doc says, it probably won't fit. However, a universal clamp on one should fit without any problems. Plus you have the added bonus of being able to take it off when you're not using it & you don't have to drill holes in your boot lid either! Try Moss Europe, they're classic MG specialists & do all sorts of racks. http://www.moss-europe.co.uk/Shop/ViewProducts.aspx?PlateIndexID=4433&SortOrder=4
 

Zem

New member
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
542
Location
West Sussex
As an aside to all this... just out of curiosity...is there a speed limit when you have a boot rack fitted. I seem to recall an Alfa dealer telling me tales of the GTV boot lid buckling under the weight over a certain speed. Of course that may just be appropriate to the Alfa.
 

LittleRedB

Rosso Corsa of corsa!!!
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
5,693
Location
Binfield
Careful ROUGE - I would try to source a FIAT rack as they are built to take advantage of the reinforcing points under the bootlid - fit one that sits on an unsupported part of the bootlid and you'll get to the other end with 4 big dent's in it!!!
 
OP
OP
R30GUE

R30GUE

New member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
193
Location
Luxembourg
All has been noted.......Thanks!!!!

:bang: I need an original boot/luggage rack if anyone knows of one for sale?
 

Robot

New member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
1,937
Location
Trondheim
Don't show Rogue that link :eek:. Especially not since one leather seat costs €690 there and I'm getting two from him for £200...:D


That aside, 321 Autoteile's a good shop; got my cambelt set from there.
 
OP
OP
R30GUE

R30GUE

New member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
193
Location
Luxembourg
Don't show Rogue that link :eek:. Especially not since one leather seat costs €690 there and I'm getting two from him for £200...:D

hmmm:idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

I've seen that link before when i was looking to buy the leather seats i am selling you but i'm not out to make a profit on the B, i don't think any of us have that intention or LUCK, still i am only charging you what they cost me and i have replaced them with the Red leather for the same price so.......everyones a winner:slayer:
 

LittleRedB

Rosso Corsa of corsa!!!
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
5,693
Location
Binfield
hmmm:idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

I've seen that link before when i was looking to buy the leather seats i am selling you but i'm not out to make a profit on the B, i don't think any of us have that intention or LUCK, still i am only charging you what they cost me and i have replaced them with the Red leather for the same price so.......everyones a winner:slayer:

R30GUE - £200 is a drop in the ocean to ROBOT in comparison on what he has spent getting rid of rattles in his engine recently!!!! :D :D
 
Top