Technical Wipers won't stop

Currently reading:
Technical Wipers won't stop

littles

Hello,

The wipers on my 2007 2.3 120 Multijet Ducato won't stop when the stalk is in the 'Off' position. They work perfectly in the intermittent, speed 1 and speed 2 settings but in the 'off' stalk position they go to speed 1. The fault is consistent when I turn the van on but if I drive for an extended period of time, it dissapears.

I've browsed the forum and it seems it could be caused by a faulty wiper motor, a fault/short to ground in the wiring from the BCM to the wiper motor, or a faulty steering column switch but open to other suggestions or feedback from people with similar issues. I'm new to electrical fault finding so some direction on where to focus my attention would be much appreciated. Some details on what I've done so far:

I've replaced the T12 relay for the wipers under the dash and that hasn't resolved it.
I've taken voltage readings on the 5-pin wiper motor connector. I got the following when the stalk was in the off position, is this what it should read?

Pin 2 = 12.1 V
Pin 3 = 0 V
Pin 4 = 0 V
Pin 5 = 11.5 V

Many thanks

Hi littles

The wiper function is as follows. The stalk switch varies its electrical resistance in steps between 0 and 2000 ohms. This resistance is measured by the Body Control Module (BCM) to determine what is being asked for. This seems a bit of an odd arrangement, but it means fewer wires are needed between switch and BCM.

The BCM then sends "logic" commands to the wiper motor on Pin 4 for On/Off and Pin 3 for Fast/Slow. When either of these lines goes low, it energises the appropriate miniature relay coil within the motor casing to select the required function. The relay coil live ends connect to 12 volts within the wiper motor, so if the lines aren't being pulled low by the BCM they will sit high at about 12 volts.

The wiper motor 12 volt supply is on Pin 2, and its Ground is on Pin 1