General UConnect screen display frozen on Fiat logo

Currently reading:
General UConnect screen display frozen on Fiat logo

bevers

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
Messages
9
Hi all,

I’ve recently bought a 500x cross plus from a private seller. It’s a 2015 model and all was working perfectly fine for 2 weeks until the Uconnect screen has decided to freeze. It’s now stuck on a fiat logo and will play the last radio station it was tuned into. However none of the buttons except the mute one work.

I’ve booked it into a fiat dealership and hoping a software reset will do the trick, but am slightly concerned I may need a new console quoted at £1k!

Has anyone had this issue and if so how was it fixed?

Thanks in advance,

AB
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
4,823
Location
Southampton, Hampshire
Do not recall this issue being posted here before. Sadly the latest version of MES does not support uConnect system yet so it looks like dealer is you only option OTHER THAN doing Internet searches on how to reset uConnect system. You could also try disconnecting the battery for several hours. On reconnection the body computer and uConnect should exchange security codes. If not you will need the know the PIN for your uConnect.
 

Pedrolami

New member
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
167
Location
Wirral
Just do a search here. I think on the 500L section there is a description on how to get it into engineering mode and also to get it to reset.
 
OP
OP
B

bevers

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
Messages
9
Thank you both for you replies! I’m going to go and see if I can get it to work now with the instructions in the link. Much appreciated - fingers crossed it fixes it!
 

twobigdogs

New member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
581
Location
Dorset
I would have a go and disconnect the battery for a while. When I first had mine it did that a couple of times with blank screen but radio playing. Even with ignition off kept playing. It seemed to sort it self out after that. To be honest the Fiat uconnect is a pretty poor version of Windows from the late eighties.....
 

Alanw47

New member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
849
I may need a new console quoted at £1k!



Has anyone had this issue and if so how was it fixed?



Thanks in advance,



AB


I'm pretty sure there are alternative (i.e. Not uConnect) systems available, with or without Nav, compatible with the USB ports etc, for much less than £1k, the problem (as I understand it) is maintaining the Settings functions and Hands Free for your phone.

There are connectors on the net which claim to retain these functions but I'm not savvy enough to read through the gobbledegook.
 

Fiat500ldn

New member
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
1
Hello,

I'm currently experiencing the same problem. Prior to it freezing and staying on the Fiat logo and playing the last radio station only it said 'phone initializing'. I've tried removing the battery but it didn't work.

Please can you let me know how you solved the problem? What caused the problem if it was diagnosed?
 

Barry8

New member
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
8
Did anyone ever have a fix to this problem? I have the same issue, and tried disconnecting the battery overnight (both connections). Still have the same startup Fiat screen and same radio station. No use of the radio buttons or USB. Any relevant suggestions would be appreciated!:bang:
 

Alanw47

New member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
849
Did anyone ever have a fix to this problem? I have the same issue, and tried disconnecting the battery overnight (both connections). Still have the same startup Fiat screen and same radio station. No use of the radio buttons or USB. Any relevant suggestions would be appreciated!:bang:



I seem to recall that pressing in the volume and tune buttons at the same time for about 10 seconds did a reset, but it was 2-3 years ago and I can't be certain I've remembered it properly.
 

Barry8

New member
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
8
Thanks, I really cant seem to get my radio to respond. Just just doesn't seem to read USB.
 
Top