Technical Twin Cam 2L work w/ stock x1/9 4spd gearbox?

xonenine

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
7
Location
Noblesville, Indiana
I am a new x1/9 owner, well almost, as I had one about 10 years ago. The one I just bought is a 1976 with the 1300 engine. I bought it with the engine locked up as it sat for over 15 years and developed extensive rust in two cylinders. I have just purchased a Lancia Zagato 1981 petrol injection motor and 5 speed gearbox to transplant into the little x. I have read of others putting the combination into the x1/9 but I would like to keep the x1/9 4 speed or possibly the later x1/9 5 speed as it would be simpler as far as the gear shifting mechanism is concerned rather than playing kinematics with changing over the front drive gearbox to a x1/9 shifter rod. Does anyone know if I can use the x1/9 4 speed or 5 speed gearbox with the twin cam 2000cc engine? I know I will be stuck with a less capable gearbox and smaller diameter clutch but I don't intend to race the car, I just want to have fun with it. I have done several engine swaps in the past, big V8's into Jeeps and a Buick V6 into a TR7 so I don't think the twin cam swap will be hard other than if I have to use the Lancia Beta transmission as it requires clearancing the frame rail and I really don't want to hack up the chassis on this x1/9. Thanks for you assistance in advance. Tom
 

Mr. X

New member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
108
Location
Houston, Tx, USA.
The TC swap is best to be done with the tranny... if you use the stock tranny you will most likely have a tranny eating machine... If I remember correctly the X tranny is only good for about 120 hp... So if you do anything to get the TC running really nice, you will regret not swapping the tranny aswell...

Personally I would have the 1.5 built by either Vick's motorsports here in Texas or Guy Croft in UK... I have spoke with both in great length and they can get almost the same out of the SOHC as you will a DOHC... I was told 140 hp, 11,000 rpm from a 1.5 was not tooo bad and it would be a bolt in... I would also go ahead and swap in the later 5 speed.


Hope this helps
 
OP
OP
X

xonenine

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
7
Location
Noblesville, Indiana
Thanks for the reply and good info. Is there any detailed info on how I can hook up the linkage for the shifter if I use the Beta 5 speed gearbox? I saw an article on this site but the pictures only show the top half of the linkages and I don't quite get how the bottom part that connects to the X1/9 shifter rod looks like. Thanks, Tom
 

Mr. X

New member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
108
Location
Houston, Tx, USA.
I will need to look further for the link I had to a page about swapping the trannies, but it was very inventive the way they did it.
 
OP
OP
X

xonenine

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
7
Location
Noblesville, Indiana
Staska, does yours have the 4 spd or 5 spd gearbox? Are you running a built 1300/ 1500 engine or have you converted to a twin cam 2L? Thanks, Tom
 

StaskaX19

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
10
Location
Kaunas
xonenine said:
Staska, does yours have the 4 spd or 5 spd gearbox? Are you running a built 1300/ 1500 engine or have you converted to a twin cam 2L? Thanks, Tom

I have 5 speed gearbox.Engine is from Uno turbo with some mods.


Staska
X1/9 turbo
Kaunas
Lithuania
photos.yahoo.com/staskax19
 
Top