Technical Squeaking & Tight clutch

Currently reading:
Technical Squeaking & Tight clutch

Ssilexxa

Hi all,
Just want some assistance regarding my clutch in my 2009 Sport. I’ve only owned it 6 months and I’m not willing to give it up just because of this issue.
After about 20 minutes of driving, or less if there’s heavy clutch use (I.e. traffic etc) my clutch become tight and starts squeaking when depressed and released. This makes the car incredibly difficult to drive as it tends to jump above the bite.
I believe it’s the slave cylinder, but I am not an expert in these things - would it be worth checking something else before i jump straight into replacing it
Below is a video of the squeak

Attachments

• IMG_4118.mov
    40.5 MB
Hi - yes that sounds like a fairly classic slave cylinder issue. Replacement is actually reasonably straightforward (it is external to the clutch, mounted on top of the gearbox under the battery). Supplies of the part are a little sporadic these days, and prices vary - but a place like Shop4Parts online is a good bet.
Thank you! I’ll get one ordered this morning!

Thank you! I’ll get one ordered this morning!
Read the other threads on here regarding replacement(not trying to dismantle the so called quick release coupling) as it will make the job easier!.
whilst under there check the condition of the battery earth strap and replace if at all suspect! saves taking it all apart again another time!.