General Seicento Mot soon.... costs

Currently reading:
General Seicento Mot soon.... costs

Hi all,
Im new to all this car stuff, as this is my first car. Its MOT is booked for thursday, and it also comes with a service, all for £50 !, will i have to pay any extra on the service or does the replace oil ect come free (please :p )

But i have a good feeling that the Seicento is going to fail, Main reason is due to the handbrake, when on a flat surface and handbrake applied, i can go round the back of the car and push the car, not easily, but can move it.
Also slight incline at traffic lights, put handbrake on, i will roll forwards/backwards.
I tried to park it on the drive, quite steep, out of gear it easily rolled not even an attempt to slow, in gear it still moves :/
How much will it cost me to get repaired? Handbrake adjustment ?

Chances are your garage is doing an 'enticement' offer of service with MOT.

My guess is that its 'wipe over with oily rag and MOT'

Then once they have the car in their clutches, expect a call with a far larger bill.

Really you shouldn't be driving the car with defective brakes, they are not just an MOT item.

You could be looking at new actuators plus cable, shoes and drums. Budget £70 for parts, possibly same again for labour, plus the Vodka And Tonic.

Cheers

D

The brakes are fine, its just the Handbrake, so i think it may just need adjusting ? It does show some support for the car, but not enough for a slightly above average incline.

+ Looking at the last years MOT on it, it had rear (pipes) brake pipes slightly corroded. That the problem ?

And It says tyre 'scrubbing' what does that mean ? :p Cheers :)

I think you may be sorely disappointed.

Seized actuators due to lack of maintenance are a common problem, and if the brakes don't hold they are defective, end of.

Pipe corrosion has nothing to do with the handbrake, did you coat them to stop further corrosion?