Styling Roof rails.

Currently reading:
Styling Roof rails.

Rogereld

Now I have the Panda 100 running I am moving on to looking at some additional enhancements. I have found a pair of roof rails, offered cheap from a breaker. One of the rails is slightly bent which may be the reason for a lower price. I am not an expert in bending metal but I am wondering what my chances are of straightening a bent roof rail?

Photo please

Depending on where and how much will alter the best course of action

Also your skill level and equipment might also come into play

Sj4lfmhLTGCKnyas2vyqJg.jpg

Cheers

Gental bend over it's whole length

I'd be tempted to turn it over on some scaffolding board and place some wood on top in the middle about 2 foot long and squeeze the sandwich together with a g clamp.

Measure how much it springs back and add that much under each end and repeat

Should get you close

It’s aluminium but quite brittle
That.

Even if you manage to straighten it, it will have been weakened, and how can you know it's not going to deform again. Worse, what if it breaks in service when you've got a load attached, and that load falls onto a busy road?

Unless you've already bought this, I'd pass and look for a better one.

Measure how much it springs back and add that much under each end and repeat
The elastic deformation is about 1.5 - 2 degrees on mild aluminum

That said the more Aluminum is bent the more it hardens and the more brittle it become, so it could crack trying to bend it back unless you can anneal it (which you can't do with it being plastic covered) so....

Unless you've already bought this, I'd pass and look for a better one.
^^^^ that

That said the more Aluminum is bent the more it hardens and the more brittle it become
This happens even when it's not bent beyond its elastic limit, which is why aircraft structures have a fatigue life and mandatory periodic inspections.