Technical Punto MK2 won't start but turns over ok

Currently reading:
Technical Punto MK2 won't start but turns over ok

Deecjay

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
3
Hi all

My son has a MK2 punto 2001 1200 8v which just cut out on him yesterday and I am just at a loss of what to try next. The dash is lighting up ok and engine is turning over ok. I have a spark at the plugs I can hear fuel pump working and have pressure at fuel rack. We have no engine management light (think light has been smashed by previous owner) on but am reading two error codes P0105 & P0120 but looking at these errors I don't think they should stop the engine running at all? Timing belt is ok but I have head these can slip but while it's throwing it down of rain I can't check this yet. Just think there may be a common problem that someone may be able to help me with.

Please and thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
16,742
So you have wet spark plugs which means fuel is getting in?

Spark = crank sensor okay too

Cant look ul what the codes mean which could tell me something important

A belt can slip on any car but its still worthwhile checking the timing

Ziggy
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
31,191
Location
Near the M4
So you have wet spark plugs which means fuel is getting in?

Spark = crank sensor okay too

Cant look ul what the codes mean which could tell me something important

A belt can slip on any car but its still worthwhile checking the timing

Ziggy


it'll run at a couple of teeth out.. But not 7 teeth out ;)

nice + easy to check..when the weathers o.k.,

here's a couple if pics;

panda maint dec 13 080.jpg

panda maint dec 13 081.jpg

panda maint dec 13 083.jpg

panda maint dec 13 079.jpg


charlie
 
OP
OP
D

Deecjay

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
3
Not sure about wet plugs yet but will look. P0105 is a map/baro circuit mailfunction and P0120 is TPS/Pedal Position Sensor. Checked these on this site and understand that these may cause the car not to perform great but should still let the car fire. I also think these may be old codes. I asume crank sensor has to be ok if we are getting a spark?
Thanks for reply.
 

oldhammer

Busy rebuilding pand'a
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
5,108
Location
manchester'ish'
Try a ecu/bcu reset,
take negative lead off battery for a bit,

then try again see what codes come up.

the two fault codes might be stored but might not be relavant
someone couid of been unplugging sensors so might not be faulty!


ecu reset costs nothing so might be worth a try,
 
OP
OP
D

Deecjay

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
3
Try a ecu/bcu reset,
take negative lead off battery for a bit,

then try again see what codes come up.

the two fault codes might be stored but might not be relavant
someone couid of been unplugging sensors so might not be faulty!


ecu reset costs nothing so might be worth a try,
I like that idea I will brave the rain and disconnect the battery now and try for codes in the morning

Thanks.
 
Top