General Pros and Cons of Electric

Currently reading:
General Pros and Cons of Electric

Monstermunch

I’m a newbie on here because this is the first Fiat car I’ve owned other than an older Ducato based motorhome a while back. It is a March 2023 U.K. registered 500e Red in the 42kwh version, bought new. It is also the first EV I’ve owned, so I thought I might share my experiences of ownership so far because sometime in the future it does now look like we all might have to make this decision.

We are lucky enough to be retired and still own two cars. My wife’s is a 1300cc petrol Toyota Yaris that currently complies with all the various emissions regulations. This formed the basis of my decision to try an EV as my car. I swapped my 6 year old VW Tiguan diesel for it.

We always had another vehicle as back up and the way I’ve chosen to use the Fiat is a car that we will both use for all local trips and always re-charge it at home. For home charging I use Fiat’s so called ‘granny charger’ which simply plugs into a standard 13 amp home mains socket and slow charges overnight from a minimum decided by me at around 60% battery left and around 80-100 miles driven on average. That costs around a fiver currently on our standard tariff. We have used it for longer trips within its dashboard displayed range, but we always re-charge at home.

Now for that ‘range’. Fiat say it is capable of a 199 mile range, but of course that is dependent on many factors such as weight carried, outside temperature and road conditions. During the summer months I have achieved that range, but I have to drive it carefully, less than 50mph, in its ‘Sherpa’ mode, and without the climate control active. Now we are in winter the range has reduced somewhat due to colder weather and having to use the climate control heating. I estimate I now get 140 miles on average. Due to the way I’ve chosen to use the car though, that is all irrelevant as I just re-charge overnight at home once it drops to 60%.