Technical New to forum - handbook help & other things!!

Currently reading:
Technical New to forum - handbook help & other things!!

talkingwhippet

Hi,
I am new to Fiat Forum - bought a 1996 1.9TD S Ulysse with 76,000 miles yesterday for £1,000. All seems fine, although no handbook with car. Anyone got a handbook they could copy & send me or point me in direction of second-hand source?

Previously had a VW T25 camper & done loads of body-work & transplanted diesel engine from Golf so looking forward to a somewhat quieter life mechanically with the Citroen/Peugoet/Fiat lump! Also had numerous Xantias so used to XUD engine.

Am I right in thinking that if have large plastic round thing in middle of roof by mirror that this means remote locking is by infra-red key-fob? If so will any Xantia-based IR fob do as long as I re-programme it? Did this several times for Xantia. No fob came with car. If anyone has a spare fob I'd like to give it a go - I will pay your p&p costs - just let me know how much.

Also car starts without entering any code in key-pad so assume this is by-passed, but am I in for shock here?

Also, what oil do I need for gear-box as would like to change it just to be on safe side. Am planning to change all filters & replace water-pump. Will flush coolant & look at rad closely.

Any other tips or pointers much appreciated!

BTW - VWs have something called VAGCAT which is a parts diagram system that anyone can access online. Is there anything similar for Synergie/806/Ulysse? Any other good parts suppliers - have already got fliters etc. from GSF - wondered if anyone else I should know about.

Cheers all.