Measuring Valve Tappet Adjustment

Currently reading:
Measuring Valve Tappet Adjustment

kkemerait

Can someone detail for me the correct procedure for adjusting/measuring the valve tappet clearance on a 1978 Fiat 124 spider. I have the tappet adjustment tool, but nothing else....the "guide" on IAP's site simply refers you to the "correct" procedure as detailed in the manual, but talks about things such as "pre-loading". I am not a mechanic .. so if anyone can point me to a good step by step procedure which includes what to remove (belts? plugs?, etc.) and how to go about making changes I would appreciate it.

Thanks in Advance.

You don't say what your Spider Engine is. Almost certainly the venerable Fiat Twin Cam Engine which means that tappet clearance adjustment is via shims.

Unlike a rocker arm mechanism as Ford and others used, the Fiat TC engine uses a "true overhead cam design" where the cam shaft lobes operate directly onto the top of the valve stems with no levers or rods involved.

To do this the cam followers a 'bucket' shaped so that they can hold a round shim of the correct thickness to adjust the gap between the top of the shim and the back of the camshaft lobe.

Take a look here [ame]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overhead_camshaft[/ame]

Back to your question.

To change the shims (adjust the clearance) you need the following tools

1) A suitably profiled lever to despress the valve
2) A suitably profiled tool to hold the vale in the despressed position
3) Shim pliers or other means of removing the shims
4) A micrometer (in mm). This will probably be required as over time the shim size etch markings get rubbed off.

Note! Fiat have produced several tools over the years for doing this. One of there last designs was just locking tool to hold the valve down. The camshaft was use to depress the valve, tool inserted and engine/camshaft wound back.

Now for the procedure: (variations exist)