Technical Main earth

Currently reading:
Technical Main earth

PeeQueue

Hi all -

I recently purchased a 500L through a private sale and it’s caused no end of bother. I’ve potentially come to the conclusion that my woes are down to the main earth, as I’ve read that this is a common fault with Fiats. However, I’m confused as to whether the 500L is the same as a 500 - the 500 has 2 earth cables (the one coming from the battery to a bolt, and another coming from that bolt to under something to do with the clutch). When I’ve looked at the 500L it seems to just have one main earth cable, coming from the battery, connecting to a bolt half way along and then terminating at a bigger bolt onto the main frame of the car (I think - I’m a woeful amateur 😁). Could anyone possible confirm that the 500L definitely only has one ground cable from the battery? And if so, is it as prone to fault as the standard 500? Many thanks in advance for your help 😊

All cars have a ground cable.

Fiats tend to have a single cable with a connector in the middle. One end connects to the battery, the other end connects to the engine or gearbox, and the middle connects to the body of the car, usually just below the battery tray.

It may be better to explain the issues you are/have been having and so we can advise on that. You could otherwise spend ages messing about with wires that don't solve the problem as they were never the problem in the first place.

What year is the car. What work has it had done? mileage? what engine is fitted? give us all the Info then we can advise what to do.

All cars have a ground cable.

Fiats tend to have a single cable with a connector in the middle. One end connects to the battery, the other end connects to the engine or gearbox, and the middle connects to the body of the car, usually just below the battery tray.