General Learn to remap

Currently reading:
General Learn to remap

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
This may sound like too much, but hear me out...

I want to learn how I can change the configuration of my ECU or whatever it is that you remap. I would like to know abbout all chips and stuff, is the Motorola the one they put in Punto mk2? Where can I find stuff like cables, manuals and so on...the full name of the chip would do also..is cable the standard one that you use for diagnostic?

I know some chip programming, I am very good at C, C++, Java and so on, so I think it wont be a problem to learn....only to be brave to do it (y)
I was also thinking after I learn everything in theory to go to some shop and have it remaped and then to "download" that config and study it:devil:

Any thoughts? The ones like youre mad dont do it are welcome also (y)
 

Rockbottom

Steve
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Messages
1,341
Location
Bristol
Interesting, I've got an OBDII ELM327 cable which allows me to run diagnostics on my JTD and clear error codes. I've got no idea if this cable would be suitable for downloading and uploading ECU maps, the software that I use can't do it, but maybe some other software can?
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
think you need specialist equipment to map cars. you need a program to create/edit the map and some way of flashing the ECU
 
OP
OP
O

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
think you need specialist equipment to map cars. you need a program to create/edit the map and some way of flashing the ECU

I knew I need a software for that, thought of reading the ECU on a machine language (asembler) and decode the meaning of the code logicaly, also I was hoping that you can flash ECU through a normal cable you use for diagnostic, seems like you need to 'plant' the chip in a special equipment or not? Anyone did remap? Have they took the ECU out and planted it on some equipment or thet did it via cable, and if so, where did they hooked the cable, on ECU directly, or under the steering wheel, where you read diagnostic?

Let's crack this mistery and then share the files to upload them on ECU's :devil: :slayer:
 

Rockbottom

Steve
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Messages
1,341
Location
Bristol
Anyone did remap? Have they took the ECU out and planted it on some equipment or thet did it via cable, and if so, where did they hooked the cable, on ECU directly, or under the steering wheel, where you read diagnostic?
My remap was done via the diagnostics port under the steering wheel... some ECU's you will need to take out though.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
2,189
Location
West Yorkshire
yeh IIRC isnt it just an EEPROM? if its removable, surely you can just stick it in an EEPROM programmer and so it that way? although you wont have the benefit of real-time tuning.
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
When Angel tuning did mine they used this thing that looked like an oversized PSP, but ChippedUK used a laptop. Both were done through the diagnostic port, the JTD ecu is behind the dash so can't remove it
 

Rockbottom

Steve
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Messages
1,341
Location
Bristol
When Angel tuning did mine they used this thing that looked like an oversized PSP, but ChippedUK used a laptop. Both were done through the diagnostic port, the JTD ecu is behind the dash so can't remove it

Angel Tuning must have changed their methods then, when they did mine they used a laptop connected to the diagnostic port. :)
 
OP
OP
O

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
Angel Tuning must have changed their methods then, when they did mine they used a laptop connected to the diagnostic port. :)

No no, he didnt say that they took ECU out, just that they used a special h/w that looks like a PSP, and other guys used PC

So its possible then for me to do it, just need application (will find it and share it if ya want), and some more knowledge of my Punto so I now what to change in config :D told you, downloading config from remaped chip would be the best (y)
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
No no, he didnt say that they took ECU out, just that they used a special h/w that looks like a PSP, and other guys used PC

So its possible then for me to do it, just need application (will find it and share it if ya want), and some more knowledge of my Punto so I now what to change in config :D told you, downloading config from remaped chip would be the best (y)

a copy would be appreciated if you find one :)

here's a picture of the AT thing attached to my car:

DSC00559.jpg
 
OP
OP
O

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
Sure thing, I'll share all my knowledge and files, but I think it will take a lot of time before I acctually learn this stuff....I need to learn stuff for my job so I don't have much time, brain space and performance is also an issue :D

Any assembler programmers here?
 
OP
OP
O

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
And this AT thing is probably a special h/w with it's own s/w for flashing ECUs...you choose a flash image and flash it :devil: could be that it has some diag or other options, depends how they made the s/w on it...other way is PC with special s/w as you mentioned, my favourite cause later I can write my own s/w :slayer:

Off course there's allways a problem of knowing how to communicate with the chip, I'll try to find a datasheet

It's pretty hard, but possible if you put your mind to it, and it can get me a lot of dinero in my town :yum: cause not so many people do it, and they overcharge it
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
it could also read and clear fault codes, including ones that could only be seen and cleared by Fiat Examiner (airbag light etc).
I think a lot of people like to go to reputable companies for a remap rather than someone doing it by themselves as it's a very complicated process creating a map and minor changes can have very damaging effects like taking injectors out or running too lean. and there is more comeback against a big company if their map kills the engine
 

Rockbottom

Steve
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Messages
1,341
Location
Bristol
No no, he didnt say that they took ECU out, just that they used a special h/w that looks like a PSP, and other guys used PC

I know what H2DaE was saying, I was saying that when Angel Tuning did my remap they didn't use the device that looks like a PSP, they used a laptop with special software on it. :)
 

puntokris

Jap Slut
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
4,054
Location
Staffordshire & Reading
If it's the money you are interested in I would stick to clearing fault codes/diagnostics tbh.

Like already mentioned, people will prefer to go to a professional and if you start messing up peoples cars I expect the comebacks won't be nice.

Other than learning the software you would need a good knowledge of engines in the first place in order to know what the software is doing. you would also need an engine to practice on, which I expect are not going to always be readily available.

But I think the fact you are willing to learn something that most wouldn't even touch is great and if you stuck it through you would have a skill that not many others have!
 
OP
OP
O

oktopod

New member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
856
Location
Beograd
I'm aware of all the problems...it's hard, but if I manage to get into the story it will suck me in, and in a few months...my Punto engine will blow to peaces :D just kiddin, hope I'll have the luck and the will and acctually remap somethin' :D

(y)
 

Oldschool

Banned
Joined
May 10, 2005
Messages
3,739
Location
On da way 2 a new mission
If it's the money you are interested in I would stick to clearing fault codes/diagnostics tbh.

Like already mentioned, people will prefer to go to a professional and if you start messing up peoples cars I expect the comebacks won't be nice.

Other than learning the software you would need a good knowledge of engines in the first place in order to know what the software is doing. you would also need an engine to practice on, which I expect are not going to always be readily available.

You and Mark seem to be the only ones that understand what is involved in re-mapping.

Re-mapping isn't a problem technically. As soon as the codes are known everyone can play around with it.

Just for informations sake. To get a map right for a production car it is necessary to spend between £5,000,000 and £7,000,000 in man hours. The maps that are being downloaded from the companies are most of the time generic maps and some of them are an attempt to modify them.

To get a map properly sorted from a factory map when the car is modified needs the best part of a week. This is because the professional tuners work to the limits of safety.

If you want to go down this route than you have to spend the next 5 years in performance tuning work shops and learn how engines work. You will be surprised what you don't know after 5 years training.
 
Top