Panda Fiat Panda 1200 (2005 Model)

Currently reading:
Panda Fiat Panda 1200 (2005 Model)

Angie130491

Hi guys I am new to the fiat forum, I have a Fiat Panda 1200 (the sedan), I am enquiring about the clutch slave cylinder, I am from South Africa, does anyone know what it costs more or less..

I am also battling with the car on an incline, I use my handbrake but yet I keep rolling the car back, any tips pls..??

The clutch also keeps hooking, the slave cylinders is extremely dry and we have oiled it. Thanks

Hi, you've come to the right place!

In the UK, a new slave cylinder for the 1.2 Panda costs about £130 if you buy from a Fiat dealer or £25 if you get an aftermarket one (usually made by LUK). The LUK one is fine so no real need to buy a genuine Fiat part. Both come complete pre-filled with hydraulic fluid and the pre-formed section of pipework.

There's a lot of experience of clutch slave cylinder issues on this forum and most people will tell you that if your slave cylinder needs replacing, the master cylinder won't be far behind it. Could I strongly recommend that you change both at once. The whole job will take about 45 minutes (including removing the battery and battery tray etc.). The reason is that the two parts are connected together with a quick release hydraulic fitting which seldom comes apart without damage if the car is a few years old. Unfortunately the master cylinder is expensive at about £170 from Fiat or £150 ish aftermarket LUK. Both come complete with prefilled reservoir and pre-formed pipes as well as the quick disconnect hydraulic connector.