Technical Fiat Ducato Glow plugs

Currently reading:
Technical Fiat Ducato Glow plugs

Whiskers

Hi one and all! Greetings from Germany! As far as I know, I am posting this thread in the correct place, but if not, please let me know.

So I seem to be having an issue with my van. It's a 2014 Fiat Ducato Maxi 130 multi jet with the 2.3L engine. I purchased the van with the plan of converting it into a campervan. I figured before I start the conversion, I would first focus on the engine to be sure it is and stays reliable so I decided to do the timing chain, timing belt, V belts and the glow plugs. I know the glow plugs needed changing.

So, the thing is... 3 of the 4 glow plugs broke off in the cylinder-head. I was not surprised to be honest and was kind of expecting it. I'm not a mechanic by trade, but over the years I have taught myself and I'm mostly confident doing most jobs including removing the broken off injectors.

Long story short - I got them them out by drilling and tapping them without damaging the threads on the cylinderhead. Yay.

But...sadly, there is a but. Upon cleaning the threads and hoovering out any small pieces of metal I noticed by cylinder 3 I couldn't get my tiny hoover hose in as deep as the rest of the cylinders. Upon further investigation, I realised it seems to be the glow plug seat (if that's what it's called) that has partially came out - obviously when I removed the glow plug on that cylinder. I couldn't really see in the little hole, but I think it's made out of copper and I believe / think it is press-fitted into the cylinderhead.

I didn't want to damage it, so I tapped it in again using and old glow plug. I could only get it in about 95% in comparrison to the other cylinders. Let me put it like this : The majority of thread from the glow plug screws into place.