Technical Dipped Headlights stuck on

Currently reading:
Technical Dipped Headlights stuck on

suffolkmoose

Hi Guys. Got a problem with my dip headlights stuck on, ducato 120 2008. Headlight relay seems ok, swapped with alternate and same problem. No other bulbs affected, so not Parking, or Follow Me related as far as I can see. It has occured very soon after a service, could a connection to the OBD port have caused this? Any thoughts appreciated.

Hi Guys. Got a problem with my dip headlights stuck on, ducato 120 2008. Headlight relay seems ok, swapped with alternate and same problem. No other bulbs affected, so not Parking, or Follow Me related as far as I can see. It has occured very soon after a service, could a connection to the OBD port have caused this? Any thoughts appreciated.
You did say any thoughts. I am by no means an expert on the x250, but to try and start a discussion here are some possible areas.

1. Steering column stalk switch or connectors. On later models resistor coding is used between the switch and the BCM. Not sure when introduced.
2. BCM problem, hope not as replacement expensive.
3. Possible "rusty junction" problem below LH headlamp, but this does not seem very probable, as dip beam relay ia in cab.

Really appreciate the input, thanks. My thoughts so far...its not a relay problem, it tests Ok, and swap for alternate has same issue. There is no apparent visual issue in the BCM. The switch/connectors are next point of attention, but possible resistor coding is not something I had concidered so thanks for that. Hoping to get fault codes analysed today so will provide update asap.

The dipped beams, items F010 and F011 on the drawing are fed via relay T01. The relay is activated by an output from the Body Control Module which should only be present when the ignition is on and the light switch is On. I presume the lamps go off if the relay is removed? What voltage do you get on the individual fuses to each lamp?

Attachments