Computers.....Whats this? and how do i stop it!!

Currently reading:
Computers.....Whats this? and how do i stop it!!

serin

***** Friendly
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
9,999
eh.JPG


larger version= https://www.fiatforum.com/gallery/data/500/eh.JPG

every time i turn the PC on it asks me this! its not always Ewido that asks, but something always does :chin:

ive had a look at settings, but it dont have many options :(

so, whasup wiv it :p probably something simple, but for the life of me i dunno :cry:
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
Can't you just set it so the programs that are trying to connect can connect without asking? That would probably sort it

*EDIT* That guy in your backdrop looks like he's turned the corner and seen a wall 10ft in front of him :p
 
OP
OP
S

serin

***** Friendly
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
9,999
how do i do that!

remember...its early :p

there is a bit thatssound similar, but it only stops it for this session :chin:
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
Erm not sure tbh. Is it windows firewall that's bringing up those messages? If so just add the programs that are requesting the info on the exceptions list
 

Hellcat

zombie nation
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
28,517
Location
on the A684
One way to get rid..

Start > Shutdown > OK.. :D


Are you sure you want these programs accessing the web? I normally block everything and only perform manual updates if I have problems. If it works then no need to update.
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
Well I was assuming he had enough common sense to not let random unknown programs have free run of the internet connection ;)
 

steve1219

The Older Modder
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
2,831
Location
South Wales
Have you more than 1 network? If you have disable all other than the one you are actually using in the network panel. I had to with mine.

Steve
 
OP
OP
S

serin

***** Friendly
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
9,999
as i said, its not just this thing!!!

a few days ago it was "localhost"

and i havent given "unknown programs" free access to my internet connection, ive just said they can update!

its never done this before, they usually udate AFTER ive connected!

and im not on a network, and windows firewall is off as i use AVG instead!
 

Hellcat

zombie nation
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
28,517
Location
on the A684
H2DaE said:
Well I was assuming he had enough common sense to not let random unknown programs have free run of the internet connection ;)

I've been in IT long enough to know that when faced with a computer, common sence often goes out the window(s XP Pro? :D)
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
24,349
Location
Carlisle, UK.
I've also gone for the update manually routethen go and do it once a week, saves random updates trying to happen when I urgently want to do something, which is my kind of luck ;)
 

Hellcat

zombie nation
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
28,517
Location
on the A684
Mine always kicks off a virus scan when I switch on for friday night gaming... Kills the FPS :(

Anyway whats hidden in the 'settings' button on the alert?
 
OP
OP
S

serin

***** Friendly
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
9,999
Hellcat said:
Mine always kicks off a virus scan when I switch on for friday night gaming... Kills the FPS :(

Anyway whats hidden in the 'settings' button on the alert?

ah..thats why i stop the autoscan ;)

all thats on the settings panel is stuf about dial-up numbers and what to connect to...stuff about how you would connect if you were on dial up :confused:

the only things i can find that might do what i want, only work once, and then it happens next time i turn on!
 
OP
OP
S

serin

***** Friendly
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
9,999
Helz said:
My broadband still dials to a number and logs in though, just a very short number.

yes.......but this is stuff about extention codes and dialing codes etc, stuff that i dont use now with broadband, or with dial-up
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
serin said:
and i havent given "unknown programs" free access to my internet connection, ive just said they can update!

whoa dude, I wasn't having a go, just pointing out that I didn't ask whether you really wanted them accessing the net because I assumed you knew what the programs were (y)
 
Top