General CD Player

Currently reading:
General CD Player

chromegrey

New member
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
402
Location
West Midlands
it's the code it needs, never heard of the ecu needing reprogramming, i swapped from a cd player to an mp3 cd player, then to a connect nav, then added a cd changer - ecu did not need to be touched
 
OP
OP
H

HornetUK

New member
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
941
Location
United Kingdom.
From the dealer seller on ebay

'There is no way other than trying to changed the ECU which cost roughly £500.00

It will just come up with a error code when you install the cd player in your
car.'

Its just the standalone stereo with CD not tape, has a code....looks like it can't be done?
 

chromegrey

New member
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
402
Location
West Midlands
i don't see why it can't be done if it has a code, ring a local dealer for advice on it, or say you want to purshase one will it work ok
 
OP
OP
H

HornetUK

New member
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
941
Location
United Kingdom.
Rang 3 dealers 2 said it can be done easy, other said the same ECU thing!! No way of knowing for sure then unless someone on here has done a cassette for CD swap. I thought I could buy a non Fiat head unit and do it or can I not do this either?
 

stripey stilo

New member
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
542
Location
brigg
wat i dnt understand is you can fit connect nav + as i have with no problems but you cant fit a cd player
 

kev1

New member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
192
Location
about 30 feet below
if you can purchase a new cd player from a fiat dealer for around £200 fitted then this will obviously not include an ecu change as they are about £500 on their own:bang:
 

1.8Stilo

New member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
3,650
Location
all over the place
Well, our other 1.2 stilo active only came with a tape player as standard and swapped it for aftermarket CD player and changer with no problems! You dont even have to purchase the code from a dealer there is a website you can go on a pay a small fee if you put the serial number off the unit into the device it will give you a new code to get it working... I sure it was rroope how found this out, sorry i cant tell you the website! I'd think that aload of sh*t what the dealer is saying? I mean if its going for a reasonably price you could buy it and try it and if it dosent work, re-sell it on ebay - as these sell quite well! Nothing ventured nothing gained ;)
 
Top