Grande Punto Car wont start

Currently reading:
Grande Punto Car wont start

Antbooth

Hi. Im new to fiat forum and in need of some help. I have a fiat grande punto 2008 and I have a dash light symbol with a car and a padlock through it. I have seen other posts on here but I've tried turning the key slowly and also changed the battery in the key but no joy. My brake pedal is stiff and also I've noticed that the coil symbol on my dash has gone of when it use to always flash then stay on. Any help would be much appreciated 🙏 👍🏻

Hello,

The symbol means that the immobiliser didn't work. Have you got a spare key?

It's normal that the brake pedal is stiff, it will get softer when the engine will start. The coil symbol is glow plugs heating. I'd say normal when the immo is locked, the electronics knows there's no need to heat the air in the cylinders, as there will be no start attempt.

Do you have more than one key? If so try another one. Has anything else happened recently to the car or key?
The barke pedal is stiff because the engine is not running and the bit of vacuum "stored" in the servo chamber has been used.
Unfortunately I only have one key. We did try and bump start it going forward but no job then got my neighbour to tow me backwards and still no joy until I came to a stop and turned the key while stationary and it turned over by luck I assume. I drove the car for 15 mins to my Mrs house and the symbol stayed on. Turned the ignition off then back on and it was fine until I tried to start it again. Half an hour later. Does it sound like I need to get the key reprogrammed or even a new key 😩

Hello,

The symbol means that the immobiliser didn't work. Have you got a spare key?

It's normal that the brake pedal is stiff, it will get softer when the engine will start. The coil symbol is glow plugs heating. I'd say normal when the immo is locked, the electronics knows there's no need to heat the air in the cylinders, as there will be no start attempt.