General Brava radio

Currently reading:
General Brava radio

jocojohn

New member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
6
Hi everyone,
My partners daughter has just bought a P reg fiat brava sx. She wants to replace the standard radio cassette unit with a normal CD player. Does anyone know if a conversion bracket is available or will I have to bodge a squarish cd into a roundish hole. Any help would be great thanks.
Jocojohn
 
OP
OP
J

jocojohn

New member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
6
Thanks for those replies, my partner has ordered a kit from ebay, She wants her old JVC unit fitted and guess whos got the job..:rolleyes: I just hope the wiring plugs are the same but somehow i doubt it.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
24,349
Location
Carlisle, UK.
Mine was JVC and fitted in fine but needed an aerial adapter and live/ ignition wires chopped and swapped so it didn't keep losing the settings - though you may be lucky and have removable plugs so they will just swap over (y)
 
OP
OP
J

jocojohn

New member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
6
Thanks for that Helz, I fitted the CD today and it was quite straightforward. I see what you mean about losing the settings though. Do you think it would be ok to wire in a permanent live wire ( with maybe a 5 amp fuse) and splice it into the ignition live wire to the CD, or do I need to do something different:confused: . Just remembered my partners CD in her Renault clio does the same thing and shes always moaning the tracks always starts at the beginning. I think Im going to be busy in the near future.
 

jug

blessed are the apostates
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
27,935
Location
Durham
you swap the ignition and permanent live around, usually this is the red and yellow (or orange) wires on the stereo harness, and usually these wires have bullet connetors so they can be swapped over easily. if yours do not have connectors you need to chop and swap.
 
OP
OP
J

jocojohn

New member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
6
Thanks for that Jug, I`ll try that if I have to but now she says she`s not that bothered about losing the memory, just glad shes got a CD player. LUCKY LUCKY ME :D
 

jug

blessed are the apostates
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
27,935
Location
Durham
ouch, its a very expensive life as a halfords customer.
 

snakeeater

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
84
Location
KL
my head unit didn't have reception so i opened the casing and saw 2 philips tune knobs. so i "tweaked" one, but now i've got some phasing halfway through the decibels only in radio mode, which is still dead.

what are these 2 knobs ( there are more smaller ones ) ?

can i tune them to get reception ( instead of paying hundreds for a "microprocessor replacement" ) ?
 

bulldog5046

faster! FASTER!!!
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
9,053
if like a standard radio they probably allow you to change the band you can tune into.... adjust it enough and you can listen to police radio channels ;)
 

jug

blessed are the apostates
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
27,935
Location
Durham
i used to listen to the police on my scanner a lot as a kid but to be honest i found the taxi's a lot more entertaining. you find out all sorts from taxi drivers.
 

snakeeater

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
84
Location
KL
tried google, no use.
i just need to know the exact name of these adjustment knobs.
 

Hellcat

zombie nation
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
28,517
Location
on the A684
i used to listen to the police on my scanner a lot as a kid but to be honest i found the taxi's a lot more entertaining. you find out all sorts from taxi drivers.

I managed to pickup taxi's on my dad's normal radio once.

Base to Pob.

Hi Pam.

Pob. Once you're done there head over to Seaton for a pickup will ya?

Aye no prob. I gotta fill up first. You know if it takes petrol of diesel?

I don't know I'll ask Dad.

Base to Dad.

Hello Pam.

Pob wants to know if the Escort takes diesel or petrol.

I was in stiches by now.
 
Top